Love Reborn by Yvonne Woon | Review/BookTalk

image

Love Reborn is the third and i believe final book in the Dead Beautiful series/trilogy.  The book came out in January 2014. I’ve been meaning to read it for awhile but just finally got to it. I just finished the Percy Jackson series, so I was in a bit of a slump so it was a bit hard for me to get back into the story especially because I read Life Eternal (it’s prequel) about 2 years ago and I didn’t have the time to re-read it so I didn’t remember a lot of what happened; but I got into it pretty soon because the story is amazing, and it brushed off on any important points that I didn’t remember from Life Eternal, so I wasn’t confused. In case you don’t know what the story is about Here’s the synopsis for Dead Beautiful – the first in the series:

On the morning of her sixteenth birthday, Renée Winters was still an ordinary girl. She spent her summers at the beach, had the perfect best friend, and had just started dating the cutest guy at school. No one she’d ever known had died. But all that changes when she finds her parents dead in the Redwood Forest, in what appears to be a strange double murder.

After the funeral Renée’s wealthy grandfather sends her to Gottfried Academy, a remote and mysterious boarding school in Maine, where she finds herself studying subjects like Philosophy, Latin, and the “Crude Sciences.”

It’s there that she meets Dante Berlin, a handsome and elusive boy to whom she feels inexplicably drawn. As they grow closer, unexplainable things begin to happen, but Renée can’t stop herself from falling in love. It’s only when she discovers a dark tragedy in Gottfried’s past that she begins to wonder if the Academy is everything it seems.

Little does she know, Dante is the one hiding a dangerous secret, one that has him fearing for her life.

Dead Beautiful is both a compelling romance and thought-provoking read, bringing shocking new meaning to life, death, love, and the nature of the soul.

 

And here’s the synopsis for Love Reborn ( Don’t read unless you’ve already read the first two) :

Renée and Dante are dying. The soul they share cannot sustain them both, and they’re quickly running out of time. 

But Renée has in her possession a legendary chest said to contain the secret to eternal life-if only they could solve the clues that lie within it. With both the Liberum, a Brotherhood of the Undead, and a team of Monitors, led by Renée’s own grandfather, in hot pursuit, Renée and Dante must keep the chest safe or risk having it fall into the wrong hands. 

With the help of a mysterious letter-writer called only Monsieur, Renée and Dante follow a series of clues that lead them on a treacherous journey across Europe. They seek the Netherworld, a legendary chasm where souls go to be cleansed. It’s their only chance at a fresh start, but with it comes a terrible choice, one they never imagined they would be forced to make. 

The third novel in the acclaimed Dead Beautiful series is a haunting story of sacrifice, loyalty, and a love that can never die.

I believe this explains what the books are about but I’ll put it in my own words.

Basically when you die if you are under the age of 21 and aren’t properly buried, you revive nine days later as an Undead. You are given 21 years to roam the Earth and try to find your soul which has been reborn into a new person that was born on the exact same day you died.If you don’t find it, you start to decay like a corpse when those 21 years are close to an end. An Undead can also take any random persons soul in order to feel a momentary spurge of life, and to prolong their Undead life as well.  It hasn’t been known that any Undead has actually found their soul until now. The story follows Renee Winters and Dante Berlin. Renee is a Monitor ( a person who trains to bury Undead’s once they’ev gone rogue and dangerous) and Dante is an Undead who has been dead for 17 years. I won’t go much into explaining what its about because all I’ve just said is in my Book Recommendation Post for the series, which is a post before or after this one, so go check that out once it’s up.  

All I can say for the non- spoilers is that if you have not picked up this series yet, then definitely do, it’s amazing and totally worth it. It’s a fantasy paranormal romance; its great. I hope you check it out (:

Now onto the Spoilers!

We meet a new character in the book, his name is Theo, and I’ve got to say I really like Theo. At first i  was a bit suspicious but he grew on to me. His whole story in the end was sweet and I got to understand him better. When Anya read his card and said you will meet a girl and fall in love, I think that girl is Anya but there wasn’t much light shed to that subject in the end, so I still don’t know for sure.

Monsieur! At some point I had a theory it was Theo, but it turned out to be Dustin and I did not see that coming! I was so shocked, I had no idea, so that was an A+ for Yvonne.

Renee’s grandfather goes on to die in the fight, and I can’t say I was sorry. Renee was right, the death of her parents, her teacher, Eleanor’s mom could’ve been prevented. I hope he rests in peace.

Noah. He is a nice guy, although I don’t remember much of him from Life Eternal but he is a nice guy. His revelation to Renee about how he would do anything for her because she’s his life, that was sweet. It sucks that he got hurt and then tried to kill himself (although he was already dead) but Renee and Dante are literal soul mates, they’re meant to be. But now he’s alive again and he can become all he wants to become, an hopefully he finds love again, maybe even with Clementine (whom I don’t remember much of either)

Oh that scene in the Church with Renee and Dante. What even happened there, did they like do the deed, because that’s weird, he’s practically dead couldn’t she wait until he was alive and not only that, they were doing all that in a church.

So the end. I loved it. At first when the last chapter started I thought it was gonna end with her not remembering anything but it didn’t (: Eleanor, Noah, Dante and Anya are all healthy and alive and so is Renee and that was great. I was sobbing at the end when she and Dante met again and he said “You” and she responded “You” and they remembered each other and it was beautiful. Now they can have a normal life together and kiss whenever they want and have a beautiful life together; the life that they deserved.

I rate The book a: 5/5 🌟
The Series was great and I loved it.

🌴Happy Reading! From one book lover to another :D❤ 🌴

 

Leave a Reply

