Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins | Review/BookTalk

image

I finished this book a week ago So this is very late. I read this book as the Booksplosion Book of The Month pick for April. I finished it just a couple of hours before the liveshow and I have to say I really enjoyed the book.

Here’s the Synopsis:

Harper Price, peerless Southern belle, was born ready for a Homecoming tiara. But after a strange run-in at the dance imbues her with incredible abilities, Harper’s destiny takes a turn for the seriously weird. She becomes a Paladin, one of an ancient line of guardians with agility, super strength and lethal fighting instincts.

Just when life can’t get any more disastrously crazy, Harper finds out who she’s charged to protect: David Stark, school reporter, subject of a mysterious prophecy and possibly Harper’s least favorite person. But things get complicated when Harper starts falling for him–and discovers that David’s own fate could very well be to destroy Earth.

With snappy banter, cotillion dresses, non-stop action and a touch of magic, this new young adult series from bestseller Rachel Hawkins is going to make y’all beg for more.

Basically the book is about this girl whose life changes in just a short moment for being in the wrong place at the wrong time. It was action packed, fantasy, there was romance and it was great I really enjoyed it and Im excited for the sequels. It took me a little bit to get into it, but once i did, i really loved it .If you have not read it yet then definitely do (:
Rating:

Spoilers Ahead:
I really loved David from the start and I love how in the end they ended up together but at the same time I loved Ryan and I didn’t want him to get hurt or to end up with Mary Beth. The love triangle adds a little something to the story but truthfully I really just wish Ryan didn’t exist because it would be a lot more simple and uncomplicated; but I really did love the ending. He’s his  Sage, she’s his Paladin; it’s going to be super awkward and Im looking forward to it.

I really loved David and Harper’s relationship from the start. I loved the relationship and character building throughout the book. At first they hated each other but then they slowly started to like each other more and more and that was great.  The driving scene when Blythe was pursuing them was really the start of something new and something other then hatred.

So I’ve recently read the Percy Jackson series, so I really appreciated the whole Oracle of Delphi thing in the book a little more then everyone else (:

The humor in this book was phenomenal, I was cracking up on probably every page.

When Blythe disappeared in the car, I was just thinking about how stupid they were. Literally as they were tying her into the car she was explaining to them how she had “poofed out of the other car” and I was just sitting there thinking surely they can’t be that dumb; and turns out they were. I mean I don’t think they’re necessarily stupid, just that was incredibly stupid.

The whole kissing scene with David, that was the cutest thing.

I tangled my fingers in his hair, and his hands gripped the silk around my waist before sliding around my back, holding me so tightly that it should have hurt. But it didn’t, not even the littlest bit.
When we broke apart, we stared at each other, dazed and breathing hard. “I just . . .” He took three more quick breaths. “I needed to know.”
“Oh, God,” was all I could manage to say. This was what was between me and David Stark? This was what seventeen years of snarking and fighting and competing had been covering up?
His eyes dropped to my lips. “I think we should do it again, though. To be sure.”

That was really funny and cute and I was like Finally! Event though that was very fast after Ryan(:

David reached out and squeezed my hand, and I saw Ryan’s gaze drop to it. “That was . . . fast,” he said, and David dropped my hand like it was on fire.
“It’s not like that,” he said, but I shook my head.
Taking David’s hand in mine, I held it tightly and faced Ryan. “Actually, it kind of is. And if the three of us are going to work together, Ryan needs to know that.”

I felt like that was very rude to Ryan. I mean I understand you’re with David now but still…. David tried to spare his feelings. Half an hour ago you were telling him you loved him and now it’s as if you don’t care. I understand he should know because they’re going to work together, but at least she could of  had given him some time. It won’t make him feel any better to know that you jumped onto the other guy 10 minutes after you had just broken up. I was really disappointed in Harper for that.

Overall I really enjoyed  this book.

I rated it a : 4.5/5 

It was a fun read, filled with action, adventure and romance. I would definitely recommend it to everyone; some might not like it because it’s told in Harper’s point of view, but it’s very interesting and worth a try (:

~From one book lover to Another~

~Happy Reading! xx~

 

One thought on “Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins | Review/BookTalk

Leave a Reply

