City of Heavenly Fire | Book Review

image

image

General Info:
Title & Author: City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare
Genre: YA, urban fantasy
Page Count: 725
Series: 6th and last installment in The Mortal Instruments Series.
Edition: First, American Hardcover.
Source: Purchased
.
Summary:

In this dazzling and long-awaited conclusion to the acclaimed Mortal Instruments series, Clary and her friends fight the greatest evil they have ever faced: Clary’s own brother.

Sebastian Morgenstern is on the move, systematically turning Shadowhunter against Shadowhunter. Bearing the Infernal Cup, he transforms Shadowhunters into creatures out of nightmare, tearing apart families and lovers as the ranks of his Endarkened army swell.

The embattled Shadowhunters withdraw to Idris – but not even the famed demon towers of Alicante can keep Sebastian at bay. And with the Nephilim trapped in Idris, who will guard the world against demons?

When one of the greatest betrayals the Nephilim have ever known is revealed, Clary, Jace, Isabelle, Simon, and Alec must flee – even if their journey takes them deep into the demon realms, where no Shadowhunter has set foot before, and from which no human being has ever returned…

Love will be sacrificed and lives lost in the terrible battle for the fate of the word in the thrilling final installment of the classic urban fantasy series The Mortal Instruments!


.
.
I finished the Book yesterday (Saturday ); it was everything I could’ve hoped it to be.
The non-spoilers part of this review will be brief. All I’m going to say is that the book was very good. It was not as depressing as I’d thought it would be; Yes sad stuff happened but that was expected. I loved the character development in the book and how she incorporated all her other works like  The Infernal Devices, The Bane Chronicles, The Dark Artifices and even The Last Hours.
.
Rating:
image wpid-picsart_1405271938211.jpg

.
.
Now onto the Spoilers! (TiD spoilers too)

The prologue was great; it really got us to know more about the Blackthorns and Emma and set a foundation for what we’d be seeing in The Dark Artifices . I really love Emma and Julian, I love their relationship and their chemistry; they’re just great, and I’m glad the next trilogy is about them. I loved all the kids, Ty and Livvy, Dru and Tavvy; they were also great. I love how protective Dru was of Tavvy when the attack in the Institute started. She’s a brave warrior for only being 8.
The whole part with Izzy saying the whole

I guess this is the part where we say goodbye?

When that snippet came out everyone went crazy with their theories saying Izzy was going to become an Iron Sister -which I couldn’t imagine happening – this, that, and the other thing; but it turned out to not be significant at all. It was just her leaving for Idris.

So it’s been going around that whole theory off Izzy being Valentine’s kid because she had dark eyes, and I actually really did believe it too; but when Clary went to their house and Robert opened the door she stated: (pg 98)

…his eyes were a very dark blue, so dark she had always thought they were black

So that settled it; Robert has dark blue eyes, so that can explain why Izzy’s eyes are darker. Cassandra did state her eye color wouldn’t mean anything.
The greatest betrayal turned out to be the Seelie Queen; she also covered up the reason why people started thinking Clary had been possessed.
Omg when Meliorn was saying a few institutes had not been emptied out and he said among them The London Institute, I was like NO! ANYWHERE BUT THERE! but of course he picked London. Although when I found out that the extra force that had stopped them was a ghost aka Jessie omg that was such a great moment; I smiled along with Magnus when he told Jocelyn.

The first of the six characters to die was Jordan; he covered both the character that died early on and the boyfriend that died. I was really upset by his death; I mean he wasn’t my favorite but I really did like Jordan. I was even more upset by Maia pulling away from him, like at first I really thought she was pregnant because she kept saying “I’ve got to tell you something ” that seemed like the only logical explanation and then the whole love story with her and Bat in the end just no; I don’t care that you were going to break up with Jordan -not cool btw- but he just died, i mean, have some respect and at least wait a bit longer.
I’m gonna go more I’m depth with that. Maia wanting to break up with Jordan was fine. I mean,I really did not see it coming, I thought they were happy, but Cassie did point out on her tumblr a couple of lines from CoLS that showed otherwise. Yes, she did become very badass in this book, and I admire her for that, but I still feel like Jordan deserved better. I’m not in Maia’s position, and If I was I don’t know If I would’ve forgiven him. On the other hand, she’s also been through the werewolf change she knows how it is, Jordan didn’t attack and turn her just to be an ass, he was mad and upset, and the werewolf change made those emotions a lot stronger. He was a good guy, and he felt a lot of remorse over it. I didn’t notice anything wrong with those lines in CoLS and I don’t think I’m the only one. A lot of people, myself included , thought that Maia was over it. Besides that, there’s the whole Bat thing, yes they’re all so cute together, but I still think she should wait longer. I know she didn’t love him, but i still think out of respect for him, she should wait longer. I’m not trying to downgrade the female population by saying this, I think that owed respect goes both ways, if Jordan and Maia had switched places, I would expect the same from Jordan. Though I do have to say I appreciated her badassery (if that’s a word lol) in this book.

Let’s talk about Maureen…. wtf?
She was literally crazy omg; how.. why were they even letting her rule? Her obsession with Simon was a bit creepy -just a bit lol- it was fangirl gone cray. Can’t say I was sad when she died ;the whole “Mama” thing sounded like something I’ve seen in movies when vampires die burning or from poison; which is what happened. She was the third of the six characters to die. If we do the math we have to count that werewolf guy that Maia killed and became leader because of it. Technically we did know him by name from the last Book even though no one paid attention to him. He was a duche anyways so no harm there. He was the second to die. Actually, no, Meliorn was the second to die. So I guess we don’t count the werewolf guy. There’s also Praetor Scott which if I’m not mistaking, I believe is Woosley Scott which we do know by name. Oh well.

I can’t believe they fell into Sebastian ‘s trap In Chapter 5. I mean how stupid can you be? Jace and Clary told them it was a trap, and they know because they know Sebastian more then anyone else. They can be such idiots sometimes those shadowhunters. Don’t even get me started on The Clave, they’re so corrupted and just no… I can believe that stunt they pulled with Helen and Mark and how Jia has just used Jules and Emma to get info. What kind of person does that? Can I please have Charlotte as Consul back please?
Magnus is right about the Fair Folk; they won’t get over this and this will come back to bit the Clave in the derriere.

On page 182 when Sebastian was like

…soon enough I’ll know her every way you can know someone

Just ew no please just stop.

PAGE 189!
JEM’S HEALING!
It happens earlier on in the book which is great. I had figured awhile ago that the Heavenly Fire would most likely be what heals him and it was! I was so excited and happy at that point; Jem is back!
They kept referring to him as Zachariah throughout the book, but that was in oder not to spoil The Infernal Devices for anyone who might have not read them.

All the love scenes in this book were phenomal. Especially the Sizzy – Simon and Isabelle – scenes. The one in Idris in Alec’s room where she “ripped the shirt in half” I was so done lol.
They’re just perfect; all their scenes together were perfect.

BTW there were no chapters called “Simon’s Sacrifice ” he did make a sacrifice but that happened in “Judas Kiss” maybe she changed the name.
I was heartbroken. I didn’t really believe Magnus was going to die. Even as he was speaking to them and saying goodbye I still didn’t believe it. When Simon talked up I was like Yes! That makes sense; he hasn’t been a vampire long so it won’t kill him and he’ll both longer be a vampire; win win situation right? Nope. Because then Asmodeus (whom btw i figured was Magnus’ dad when i think Sebastian said he and Lilith ruled this place, because Magnus had said this was his dads realm) was all I’ll take his memories too! I cried.
But it all turned out Okay.
Believe it or not I always had this thought in the back of my mind that somehow someway Simon would cease to be a vampire; I didn’t know how but I knew it should happen because it was the only possible way for Sizzy to survive and we already had that one Immortal / Mortal relationship (Malec) so I knew that we didn’t need another one. Along with that thought, I had this other thought about how wouldn’t it be awesome if he ascended just like Sophie did, because then they could had that perfect shadowhunter wedding like Clace would and all would be great.
It actually went down that way (: -not all the wedding stuff (not yet Lol) – but everything else.
Simon is definitely going to remember Izzy fully , no doubt there.
OH and did the last scene with Clace in the Epilogue when he said ” think of the sound of ‘Clary Herondale’ ” that reminded me so much of how Will had proposed to Tessa at the end of Clockwork Princess ;I cried.

When Clary was telling her mother that she ” was a Morgenstern ” (pg 219) I was like preach it girl! You’re right; it is your name and you shouldn’t have to be ashamed of it.

The scene with Simon and the drunk persons blood and he called out ” I love you, Isabelle Lightwood ” that was so cute; I don’t care that he was drunk, we all knew it was true. And the way Izzy reacted… lol but she’s always been, and still remains my favorite; along side Magnus.
And then when Robert pulled out the cross -first of all whats is up with that?.. jerk- and Simon plucked it out of his hand and said “wrong religion ” I  whistled along with Helen; you tell him!

When Clary was describing what Sebastian had (almost) done to her, wow that was emotional.

I love the fact that Jace accepted the name Herondale; it’s a beautiful sacred name and he should be proud to have it. And now the line will continue on with all those little babies Clace is sure to have (:

image

I’m going through all the post its and notes (:

When Izzy was like “They said I would’ve made a good Iron Sister ” I was yelling NO! THIS CANNOT BE FORESHADOWING!
OKAY? OKAY.
thankfully it wasn’t (:

I loved all the visions when they entered the demon realm. Clarys sort if wedding with Jace, Jonathan being the brother she should’ve had, Valentine being a hero, and her little sister; it was so good.
I loved Izzy’s too.
Alec’s was weird.
And Simon’s OH I loved his; it really showed his character development. Old Simon had  always wanted Clary but now that he had her; all he wanted was Izzy. I loved that. Loved his growth throughout the series.
Favorite sidekick character

Btw I’m really sorry if this is all over the place I really tried to keep it organized.

I talked a little bit about Emma and Jules whom I totally ship btw. They’re so cute.
I can also see why they say she’s the nest shadowhunter ” since ” Jace Lightwood -which turned out not to mean he had died – but anyways she’s super badass and driven; and I know TDA is all about her trying to solve her parents murder so I’m looking forward to it. Also it seems like Tess and Jem are heading to L.A so they will hopefully play a large role in her life.

Alec you know I really don’t like him much. I don’t hate him but I dont necessarily like him either. He’s just like there for me.

Now onto a very emotional part (for me at least.)
Raphael’s death.
I was bawling. I love Raphael; I always have. Even when he was threatening Simon; he’s a good kid. This part was also one of the parts where I wish I had read The Bane Chronicles because there were so many references to it; but now I’ll just wait until it’s out in physical form and read it then. Anyways I was very upset by this. RIP baby.

I’m sorry if this is extremely long; just so manyy feelss.

Since were talking about deaths let’s talk about Johnathan’s death. I also cried, not for Sebastian but for Jonathan, the real one. I’ve said it in my theories and many times again after that but I knew he would be turned good; I didn’t expect him to die right after, but now when I think about it, it was the only possible way. No one would’ve forgiven him, even Clary couldn’t do it easily. I did forgive him, instantly actually because I knew he was a whole different person. What he did as Sebastian was not his fault. It wasn’t him, it was never him. Blame Valentine. The whole scene was beautifully heartbreaking. Ave atque vale in perpetuum,  Jonathan Christopher Morgenstern.

NOW LET’S TALK ABOUT SOMETHING ELSE.
THAT SEX SCENE BETWEEN JACE AND CLARY.
Now it was beautiful, the timing was a bit weird though. Don’t even lie, we’ve all been waiting for this for awhile now; and it did not disappoint. That scene put Veronica Roth and Allegiant to shame. It was awesome. Though that line

She felt Jace’s muscles flex as he reached past her for something, and heard the crackle of foil.

Ummm Okay…. did he seriously bring a condom to the demon realm? Was that really on the necessities list? Lol
I mean I get it could’ve been in his gear pocket already but still? Why would he even have that in there? He wears it to fight demons and that’s it. I can’t even..
Only Jace lol.
But it was still beautiful.

That one scene with Sebastian

… you thought she belonged to you; she belongs to me now; and I will not share

I didn’t even know how to react to that; just wtf dude? Wtf?
And when he asked her to kiss him… again wtf? *Dead*

One last thing I want to mention before I wrap this up.
In the epilogue Tessa says

I just wish he were here to see this with us, just here with us one more time

She was obviously referring to Will, and I wish the same thing. I wanted him and Jace to reunite more then anything, I knew it was impossible and would not occur; but I still wanted it happen.
I actually wish it was Will who had been the Silent Brother; the Tessa had married Jem first and he had had his life with her and died in 1937, and that now it had been Will who’d been cured by the Heavenly Fire and he who would now be with Tessa and he who would be living this with her. I miss him so much.
Also when Tessa asked “What is he now?” And Jem answered

He is happy, Tessa. It gives him joy to see us together, as it always gave me joy to see the two of you.

I had always been conflicted on that subject since after reading the epilogue to Cp2. Would Will be happy or feel betrayed? I had always believed he’d be happy, though a part of me thought he might feel betrayal, but maybe those were just my feelings. I do believe now that Will is indeed happy for them. The love that Jem and Will had shared was like none other. It was special. Will had stepped back from his own happiness with the girl he loved to let Jem have his own happiness with the same girl; and on his turn, when he could no longer be with her, Jem had done the same. So I do believe they have Will’s blessing, and they have mine (: .
Also on some paperback copies of the Book apparently there’s some images of Jem and Tessa’s wedding. I didn’t know that had happened because I have the hardcover. That’s cute.
So anyways I’ve stated it above and on goodreads as well as on IG, but
I rate this book a:  5/5 🌟
It was fantastic. Fantastic job to Cassandra Clare for creating such an amazing world and story and characters. I love you, and you’re my favorite author

– Lily ~ wordsweheart
◐From one book lover to Another◑
♂♂Happy Reading! :)♂♂

2 thoughts on “City of Heavenly Fire | Book Review

Leave a Reply

