The House of Hades (Heroes of Olympus) by Rick Riordan | Review

 The_House_of_Hades

Title & Author: The House of Hades by Rick Riordan

Series: Heroes of Olympus #4 

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Greek & Roman Mythology 

Page Count: 583 

Publication Year: 2013

Publisher: Disney Hyperion 

Edition: First, American Hardcover

Source: Library

Summary: 

At the conclusion of The Mark of Athena, Annabeth and Percy tumble into a pit leading straight to the Underworld. The other five demigods have to put aside their grief and follow Percy’s instructions to find the mortal side of the Doors of Death. If they can fight their way through the Gaea’s forces, and Percy and Annabeth can survive the House of Hades, then the Seven will be able to seal the Doors both sides and prevent the giants from raising Gaea. But, Leo wonders, if the Doors are sealed, how will Percy and Annabeth be able to escape?

They have no choice. If the demigods don’t succeed, Gaea’s armies will never die. They have no time. In about a month, the Romans will march on Camp Half-Blood. The stakes are higher than ever in this adventure that dives into the depths of Tartarus.

.

I read this in two days. It’s my favorite in the series now. I feel like this series gets better with every book, which is fantastic. The last book The Mark of Athena ended in a cliffhanger, so I was glad I didn’t have to wait a whole year for the next. I’m very happy that I’m on track with the series now, and I can read The Blood of Olympus when it’s released in October. This book didn’t end in a cliffhanger, and I’ve been reading this series for awhile now, so I can wait (: I’m not going to talk much about what the book is about because that would be spoiling the previous books. But in this book we met a lot of friends and foes from previous books including the PJO books. I loved the character growth and development in the book. i also love that cover. Overall, the book was great, a fantastic continuation to an already fantastic series. The House of Hades did not disappoint. 

Rating: 

wpid-ratings-hearts-picsarct_1.2.jpg.jpeg

Reviews of the previous books in order: 

The Lost Hero Review

The Son of Neptune Review

The Mark of Athena Review

Spoilers Ahead! 

So Percabeth were in Tartarus. Despite that, I still enjoyed Percy’s PoV’s. I loved seeing their  journey from both his and Annabeth’s perspective. Along with Leo’s, Percy’s PoVs are my favorites. Like I said before, there were a lot of things from Percy’s past catching up with him in this book. Kelli, the empousa ( i think that’s what they’re called ) he faced in his old high school, Bob The Titan (whom I didn’t really remember) , and others. 

I remember in The Lightning Thief movie, Percy’s pen was a click on (whatever) pen and in the book it was a ballpoint with a cap, and I remember always thinking how the pen in the movie was better, because he didn’t have to worry about the cap, but in this book it was answered that he just discards the cap. Also, he found out it could actually be written with lol. 

Both Nico and Leo were amazing in this book, all 7 were, but those two were epic. Leo saved everyone at least once in the book, and the whole Calypso thing omg, we’ll get to that later. As for Nico I loved that he kept visiting Bob, and that’s why Bob helped Percy. I hated how everyone was treating him in the beginning of the book, I was so pissed. Yes, he’s quiet and liked to be alone but he’s not a creep; and the whole “don;’t know where his loyalties lie” crap ugh. Although they turned around at the end so it’s okay now, but I wasn’t happy with them for that. Nico di Angelo is as much a hero as the rest of them. Then there was also his little secret that Jason found out, which I was mildly spoiled on, but it was very emotional for me, that was his weakness, and it was heartbreaking. I hope he gets over Percy, because I do love him and would want him to be happy, but Percy and Annabeth are meant to be. Maybe he and Reyna will be a thing..? They’re the only single ones, and now they’re going on that journey together, hopefully, considering he does also like girls. As long as it’s not Percy, I just want him to be happy. Although, I was fine with him being single so I could pretend I had him for myself (: 

Leo and Calypso. I cried throughout all those chapters. I was spoiled on that, but I didn’t mind. I loved how they started quarreling and not liking each other, and they slowly started to care for one another. It was the most realistic relationship in this book to me (besides Percabeth) not that the rest weren’t. I honestly cried so hard when Leo left and he swore on the River Styx that he’s come back for her, and I know he will. They’re my new OTP, I don’t think they take Percabeth’s spot yet; but they’re close. Just thinking about it brings tears to my eyes. Also, the whole opening up the shop thing, my god it was the most adorable, beautiful thing and I couldn’t control the tears, they just flowed. Oh and also apparently calypso cursed Percy?.. I don’t know, i guess I couldn’t blame her she’d expected to be freed,and apparently Percy had asked.. I still like her though. What’s the ship name? Caleo? I like it (: ♥

Also, Grover made an appearance, I hope we see more of him in BoO because he’s been MIA for awhile. 

Coach Hedge, and Mellie got married and are expecting, I really didn’t expect that. I thought they were breaking up tbh, so that was a nice surprise. I love what Frank did for him that was sweet. 

Speaking of Frank, I felt like he was a lot badass in this book, and he grew into himself. I don’t dislike him anymore, but he’s still not my favorite, he never was; so we’re back to square 1. Then, he was promoted to praetor because Jason realized that he’s now more Greek then Roman, and I’m glad, he’s a good fit for the position. Also, I loved what Leo did for him, like that kid is wonderful, even as he was in Ogygia he still thought about Frank and asked Calypso to make that pouch for him; Leo is the best. I felt like their relationship also grew, he trusted Leo and cares now and that’s wonderful. Leo Valdez is an amazing guy, Calypso is lucky to have him. 

I felt like all 7 really came into their power and realized they’re each important to the quest. They each had their moment, Piper with Khione, Frank with the ghosts and the animals when he had to save Hazel, Leo saving everybody multiple times, Hazel with the mist, the giant with Hecate, and so on…. I loved that. They were each very badass in their own way, especially Hazel and Leo I think, but they were all awesome. 

Reyna and Nico are apparently going to have a PoV in Blood of Olympus and I’m very excited about that. I really enjoy Reyna, and we all know about how I feel towards Nico, so this is perfection. 

Percy and Annabeth went through a lot, especially the end with Tartarus, I knew they weren’t gonna die, no one really important ever dies until the last books in his series, so I wasn’t scared. Although, it was nice and at times funny seeing the way they got out of most of the situations down there.  

 I think that’s it, but I really, highly,extremely, thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is my favorite in the series, and I’m sure Blood Of Olympus will be even better. I’m excited! Have you read this book? What were your thoughts? I’d love to know (: xx 

BTW so sorry this was all over the place. I’m trying to write my reviews before picking up my next book for the read-a-thon, and then editing them right before posting (which is right now). The next review you’ll see will be on The Sorcerer’s Stone (: I’m currently working on that. 

I’m gonna make a Blood of Olympus Theories post in the near future. Who’s gonna die, who will survive? We already know it’s gonna be a happy ending (meaning that they will somehow beat Gaea), but there are still more sacrifices to be paid, and I wonder what they are. In the end, I really hope Percy, Annabeth, Nico and Leo (and get his happy ending with Calypso of course) survive, I love them all, but those are my favorites. 

wpid-img_20140711_220159.jpg 

16 thoughts on “The House of Hades (Heroes of Olympus) by Rick Riordan | Review

  1. theintrovertedschmuck says:

    I absolutely agree with your review! Smart move on reading HoH this year.
    House of Hades made me ship Percabeth even harder! I cannot wait for Blood of Olympus! Such a pity that it’s the last.
    I am desperately wishing that Caleo get a happy ending!
    Did you read Uncle Rick’s tweet??? He apparently said that Nico’s POV is going to be the last chapter and…I can’t say it! Nico is one of my favorite characters from HoO series and well…I think he deserves to be happy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ωσя∂ѕωєнєαят says:

      lol now I won’t have to wait a year, just a few months! (:
      Me too! I didn’t think that was possible seeing as they’re my OTP, but it did, and I agree, it’s bittersweet.
      I will be crushed if Caleo don’t get their happy ending, they truly deserve it.
      I haven’t, but I’ll go look for it. So he only gets one chapter? Well that’s better then nothing. He is one of mine too, and i think so, he deserves all the happiness in the world and I genuinly hope he gets it. I can’t believe we’ll have to say goodbye after this book; when I finished PJO I wasn’t really upset because I knew there was still this series, but now it’s ending and this is it. There’s also not going to be an epilogue, which sucks because I personally love epilogues, even though he doesn’t. Either way, I’m excited for the book ♥

      Like

      • theintrovertedschmuck says:

        There is not going to be an epilogue!!??!! Why?? Epilogues bring a closure of sorts! And we are going to be missing Percy,Annabeth and the gang so much! Maybe an epilogue would have been like a goodbye. But there is not going to be one and that’s sad!
        He’s writing a series about Norse Gods next . At least that’s something.
        I get you! October seems so far away! I hope BoO is as good as The Last Olympian 🙂

        Like

      • ωσя∂ѕωєнєαят says:

        Yea he says he hates epilogues because it’s like closing the readers imagination, which I don’t agree with because even with the epilogue we can still come up with a future for them. Oh really, cool I ‘m looking forward to reading those. I hope so too! The Last Olympian was a fantastic ending (:

        Like

      • theintrovertedschmuck says:

        Why does he do things like that!!??!! I get it that it’s his personal opinion but I am not okay with it.
        I agree with you! The Harry potter series had an epilogue but that didn’t stop the fanfiction from coming in!
        The Last Olympian was so funny! But the end! The feels! Luke! ❤ ❤ ❤

        Like

      • ωσя∂ѕωєнєαят says:

        IKR! and I agree with The Last Olympian, the only reason why I wasn’t in a slump after it was because I knew there was the HoO series with them in it, so it was like the epilogue. I cried with that last part with Luke, it was heartbreaking.

        Like

  2. isa13na says:

    I’m so glad you liked it! Percabeth was so nice to watch in Tartarus, but sad at the same time, but with Nico… I have mixed feelings about that. I really want to keep Percabeth, but poor Nico.
    YES! I absolutely want Caleo to have a happy ending!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

