Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell | Review

 

 Title: Eleanor & Park 

 Author: Rainbow Rowell 

 Series: NA 

 Genre: YA, Contemporary

 Page Count: 328

 Publication Year: 2013

 Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

 Format: First, American Hardback 

 Source: Library

 

 

Summary: 

Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.

.

I can’t even with this book. This book really moved me, I really cared for the characters and their relationship, I wanted it to all work out. Park Sheridan is the new Augustus Waters to me at least. I mentioned on IG how I thought this book was better then TFiOS and I still do. Anyways, this book was wonderful, I’m still a bit confused about the ending, so if you’ve read this book, please do comment and let me know what you think of the ending, to shed some light on it for me (: The story was realistic and so well written. I now get why everyone loves Rainbow’s writing, it truly is wonderful, and mesmerizing. I read the book in a few hours, almost in one sitting. I started at about 7 p.m on Friday night and got to page 262 at around 1 am, and decided to stop for the night, then I picked it up again Saturday morning and finished it in about an hour. It was very easy to get into, her writing catches you from the start and refuses to let you go, that’s how good it was. I cannot wait to read Rainbow’s other books. I’ve already started Attachments but never got to finish it, but I still have Fangirl and Landline also. I’m glad this was the first book of hers that I started and finished reading. The story was so heartbreaking and emotional, I loved it. Just amazing. Her characters were relatable, and so real, you couldn’t help but care for them. I loved the dual perspective we got, even though they were in 3rd person, it didn’t stop me from connecting with them. I cried and cried so much during this book, it’s ridiculous. If you have not read this book yet then please do. I think it might take The 5th Wave ‘s spot as the best book I’ve read this year, I still love The 5th Wave, and those two books were very different, but they were both amazing nonetheless. Just, this book,,, just read it. Also read The 5th Wave if you haven’t because that book is fantastic.

Rating: 

wpid-ratings-hearts-picsarct_1.2.jpg.jpeg wpid-picsart_1405271938211.jpg 

This one is definitely on my favorites shelf ♥ 

I feel like I’ve been giving a bunch of the books I’ve been reading 5 stars, but it’s because I loved them all. The books I read are most often recommended to me by people whose opinions I trust, so therefore I’m likely to read and love them.

Spoilers! ⊗

I loved Park since pretty much the moment I met him. When he gave Eleanor the seat, then he noticed she was reading his comics, so he read them at a pace she could keep up with, and then he handed her the comic, then he started giving her the comics, my god it  was the cutest thing. That was totally a run-on but who cares lol. Then when they actually started talking, and he made her that tape, then he let her listen to it on his headphones, I just awe. I loved seeing their relationship grow, it felt so real, and I loved that. Then there was that phone call when she was at her dad’d house and it was beautiful, a bit weird but beautiful. When she was telling him she didn’t like him, that she “lived” for him lol ( El had her share of weird moments in this book) but then at the end he finally told her he loved her and I cried even harder.It really bugged me that she never said she loved him back throughout the book, but she said it at the very end sort-of, I mean I know those were the three little words in the post card, but I’m confused, what do they mean, like what does this all mean? Why didn’t she call him during that year, why did Park kiss that girl at prom, is he with Eleanor again? Like, I’m very confused. What were your interpretations of the end because I don’t know what to think.

When Park fought Steve after the Big Red incident, and he called her his girlfriend, I broke down. That was the cutest thing. Their relationship was one of the cutest,  most realistic ones I’ve ever read about.

I really didn’t see that her step dad wad the one writing those notes, I genuinely thought it was Tina, how messed up is that guy smh. Also, Tina and Steve turned out to actually be not that bad. After Park beat him up, and he said “I didn’t know she was really your girlfriend” and Park said ” It doesn’t matter” (which it really didn’t) and then he said “Of course it matters, you’re my friend” (Those might not be the exact word) but it was still nice, and Tina helped her in the end; so they’re not that horrible.

Then there was the whole makeover dilemma with El and Park’s mom. She freaked out, which to me it really wasn’t that serious. I can see why some people might find El a bit annoying, but she’s not that bad, she was bit annoying at the point when Park told her he dated Tina, but besides that she’s just really weird, but I still do like her.

I have to say I love Park’s parents, and the way their love was still so real and so strong, it was beautiful. Park’s family was wonderful, and they were so inviting to El, even though her mom didn’t like her at first, but then when she realized that she had come from a similar family as her, and she bought her that gift, I loved that scene when she was apologizing to Park, oh man I cried. 

Also, I loved the way Park kept saying “Jesus” as a reaction to like everything, because that’s literally me lol. When she told him that her step-dad had sent her away for a year and he replied “Jesus” , I’m not even kidding, that was my exact reaction. I guess that’s also why I loved Park, because he was so relatable to, and so was Eleanor on some levels. Like this book was probably the most realistic book I’ve ever read. With those kind of romance book, the romance is always beautiful, but not realistic. This one was. This is the kind of love normal people experience, this was real, it was so real. There are a lot of Park’s out there, you just need to find yours (: (oh God, I’m starting to tear up lol) 

Okay, I think that’s it! The book was pretty short, so I didn’t have much to say. I really loved it ♥ Don’t forget to let me know what you thought about the ending and the book overall xx

wpid-1405129367174-1.jpg

9 thoughts on “Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell | Review

  1. Amy Sachs says:

    I love Eleanor & Park so much. When he silently hands her comics ugh I can’t. It was my first Rainbow Rowell book and she hasn’t let me down since. I don’t know anything extra about the ending but in my mind the words on the postcard said I love you.

    Like

  2. Korrina says:

    The ending to me was Eleanor taking that next step in being able to tell Park that she loved him because that’s what he was waiting for her to say back. It took her time but she was ready and that’s why he was so happy at the end. That’s what I got from it anyway hope this helps 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

