Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi | Review

 

Title : Unravel Me

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Series: Shatter Me #2

Genre: YA, Dystopian, Romance

Page Count: 461

Publication: February 5th, 2013

Publisher: Harper Collins

Format: First, American Hardcover

Source: Owned 

 

Summary: 

tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it’s almost
time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.

.

I really enjoyed this book, a lot more then the first. Although, like the first, I felt like it was a bit slow in the middle and more fast paced in the start and the end. Adam and Juliette’s relationship still felt a lot more physical then anything else for the duration of it. We find out Adam’s ability in the book, but more on that in the spoilers.I read the book about a week ago I think, and I’m just now writing this review, but I’m using the notes I took, so I should be alright (: Since then I’ve also read and finished Fracture Me , the novella set during/after this book in Adam’s POV (Review coming soon). And I’m currently reading Silver Shadows. There isn’t much I can say about the book without spoiling since it is a sequel, but I really enjoyed it! It didn’t have the middle book syndrome, there was a lot of actions,and there was Warner ♥.  Anyways, I’ll link to my Shatter Me Review below, as well as my Destroy Me review, in case you haven’t started this series yet. Overall, I really enjoyed this sequel, and I’m looking forward to Ignite Me (:

Rating:  

wpid-ratings-hearts-picsarct_1.2.jpg.jpeg

Shatter Me | Review

Destroy Me | Review

Spoilers! ↓ 

Okay so Adam’s ability is to “disable things” which I have to agree with Warner on this one; in most case scenarios, it’s pretty useless. I find it funny how he actually has to work to be with Juliette, while with Warner her touch actually strengthens him. I definitely think Warner is the best choice for Juliette, I think Christine mentioned it in her booktalk but I definitely feel like this is an Elena & Stefan vs Elena & Damon situation; and guys I love The Vampire Diaries, and I’m totally Team Damon in case you didn’t know. Anyways like I was saying with Warner its the same as with Damon, both Juliette and Elena make them want to be better, they strengthen them. I’m not gonna compare Stefan and Adam, because while reading this book I was still on the fence, but with TVD I was team Damon since I knew he had affections for her, I cannot tell you how happy I was in the season 4 finale, I cried. Okay, back onto the topic lol. I said previously how irresponsible I thought Adam and Juliette were when they were together, and I had the same opinions in this book. When Adam and Castle told her about it all and they still had that make out session, I was annoyed, I honestly didn’t feel bad for Adam because I thought he deserved it. Seriously, can you just not touch for awhile I MEAN YOUR LIFE IS ON THE LINE HERE! I did appreciate the fact that he was willing to risk it and didn’t want to let her go, but they went too far. They had their fair share of heartbreaking scenes after their breakup which I mean, I was touched….but then Warner… I have to say I was so glad I read Destroy Me before reading this, like Christine said, I do think it should have been part of the book, like a prologue or something (though it’s a bit too long for that) but anyways I do think that even without it, I would’ve fallen for Warner ♥ Those scenes in the room with Juliette, when he started reading from her journal, another reason why I think Warner is best for her, he genuinely understands her, and he knows her better then anyone. Then when she found his scars (which I’m still wondering about) then the Ignite tattoo (a little cliche lol but cool) I just love Warner. When he was like “Are you saying you want to be friends?” all their scenes were adorable; and CHAPTER 62 OMG! But we’ll get to that later. 

I have to say I love James, he’s definitely one of my favorite characters. I also love his relationship with Kenji (my other favorite) it was beautiful.Oh and he has healing powers! How cool! Poor Adam lol even his little brother has cooler powers.

Then we have the whole encounter with Anderson, and Juliet. Turns out he’s also Adam’s dad. I was spoiled just a couple days before -__- I was really upset because I went out of my way to not get spoiled on this series, and I hadn’t really. I haven’t gotten spoiled about Ignite Me though and I intend (hopefully) to keep it that way.  

At first with Warner, I was pretty sure his power was empathy, because he said he knows what people feel, and idk it might still be part of it but his power is really cool. I’m still not over the fact that he actually enjoys Juliette’s touch and it strengthens him, they’re literally meant to be. When Kenji got hurt, I was confused and upset, I knew that Kenji couldn’t die (at least not yet) but I was scared and sad cuz I love Kenji, but he’s alright (: 

THEN CAME CHAPTER 62 AND OMG I JUST I FEELS!.  When Warner said “Please don’t shoot me for this” then kissed her, that was so cute and funny, I was crying and laughing at the same time just perfect. Then they started getting steamy and he asked her to call her Aaron instead cuz he wanted to be different with him and then Juliette ruins it by calling out Adam’s name. It wasn’t like she was imagining it was him there (which is what it would’ve looked like to Warner) she just felt guilt; which I understood but still… omg, that was heartbreaking and beautiful. 

Then came the ending and Juliette got shot (WTF moment) then Warner saved her along with the girls, and I loved the way the book ended with her waking up next to Warner, and the fact that Anderson (and everyone else) thinks she’s dead, and it really got me excited for Ignite Me! I can’t wait (: xx 

Have you read this series? What are your thoughts? I’d love to know and no spoilers for Ignite Me please ♥ 

One thought on “Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi | Review

  1. Molly Mortensen says:

    Nice to know that the sequel holds up. Some people have the hardest time writing the middle of the book, I’m guessing that applies to this author. I think the beginning is the worst, because if the beginning doesn’t hook me, I’ll pick a different book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

