Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K Rowling | Review

 

 Title: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

 Author: J.K. Rowling

 Series: Harry Potter #2

 Genre: Children’s, Fantasy 

 Page Count: 341

 Publication: June 2nd,1999 (July 2,1998 for the UK) 

 Publisher: Scholastic

 Format: First, American Hardcover 

 Source: Owned

 

 

Summary: 

The Dursleys were so mean and hideous that summer that all Harry Potter wanted was to get back to the Hogwarts School for Witchcraft and Wizardry. But just as he’s packing his bags, Harry receives a warning from a strange, impish creature named Dobby who says that if Harry Potter returns to Hogwarts, disaster will strike.

And strike it does. For in Harry’s second year at Hogwarts, fresh torments and horrors arise, including an outrageously stuck-up new professor, Gilderoy Lockheart, a spirit named Moaning Myrtle who haunts the girls’ bathroom, and the unwanted attentions of Ron Weasley’s younger sister, Ginny.

But each of these seem minor annoyances when the real trouble begins, and someone–or something–starts turning Hogwarts students to stone. Could it be Draco Malfoy, a more poisonous rival than ever? Could it possibly be Hagrid, whose mysterious past is finally told? Or could it be the one everyone at Hogwarts most suspects…Harry Potter himself.

.

So the book was fantastic. I do prefer Sorcerer’s Stone, but this one was wonderful as well. You’ve all most likely already read this anyways, so you know. I watched the movie right afterwards and I have to say, while it was a good adaptation, it wasn’t as good as Sorcerer’s Stone was. They kept the basic facts which was good, but they also switched and skipped stuff, like Headless Nick’s Deathday Party, I didn’t really mind but yea. When, I thought of the Chamber of Secrets, I literally thought it was like a Chamber that kept secrets lol. since the titles have been very literal you can’t really blame me. I can’t really say much without spoiling since this is a sequel, but all I’ll say is that I loved it! I read it in about a day I think, Prisoner of Azkaban is the sequel to this one, and it’s about 100 pages longer, but I’m not worried, because even though the rest in the series are really big, I don’t think they’ll take me long because so far I’ve been flying though them. I’m so mad at myself for not having read all these 4 years ago when I first acquired them. Anyways, I absolutely loved it! (: 

Rating: 

wpid-ratings-hearts-picsarct_1.2.jpg.jpeg wpid-picsart_1405271938211.jpg

.

Spoilers ⇓

Ginny Weasley was a first year at Hogwarts, which was great! She also made it into Gryffindor which I wasn’t actually spoiled on, so that was great. We found out more about the history of Hogwarts. how the houses were formed, what the Chamber of Secrets actually was, how messed up Slytherin was, ect… 

Harry apparently is a “Parselmouth” which means he can talk to snakes, which is pretty cool. In the first book when he talked to the boa, I thought it was a regular wizard thing, turns out it’s not. Throughout the book I actually thought Harry was the Heir of Slytherin, not that I thought he had opened it, I guess I didn’t get the whole concept at first. I didn’t think it was Malfoy, I did think that Gilderoy character was a bit suspicious, but I thought it’d be bit obvious if it was him, I did not expect it to be that Tom Riddle character, nor did I expect that he was Voldemort. I think Rowling is very good with her plot twist, in the first book, and then again in this one, with her we have to expect the unexpected. It was great! Then also the fact that Moaning Myrtle was that girl that died the last time the Chamber is opened, and also how old is Dumbledore, I mean he was already a teacher 50 years go… I like Harry, didn’t think it was Hagrid who did it, but I did believe it was him who opened the Chamber last time, so I was also fooled, which doesn’t happen too very often because I usually catch on to stuff like that. 

Harry was awesome as always, he saved Ginny *wink* and he beat the Snake, and RIddle and he’s epic. I loved them all in this book, Harry, Ron, and Hermione, and also Ginny. Oh, and the Weasley parents are fantastic! I love them ♥ Compared to the Dursleys who are just horrible, and now that they know Harry can’t use magic, his summer will probably be horrific, hopefully he stays with the Weasleys for most of it.

I don’t think I have much else to say, the book was fantastic. It really was. I’m looking forward to the next one and continuing on the awesome journey (: 

wpid-1405129349257-1.jpg

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K Rowling | Review

  1. Molly Mortensen says:

    It’s interesting to hear about the books from a first time reader. The third one is my favorite! Yeah, the books get longer, but more happens, so they certainly don’t feel longer. Glad you hear you’re enjoying them. 🙂 Hey, at least you don’t have to wait for the next one to come out. That was torture!

    Like

Leave a Reply

