Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout | Review

 Title: Obsidian

 Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

 Series: Lux #1

 Genre: YA, Sci-fi. Paranormal Romance

 Page Count: 269

 Publication: May 8th, 2012

 Publisher: Entangled Teen

 Format: E-book (Kindle) 

 Source: Owned

 

 

 

Summary: 

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

Well this book was just fantastic, the amount of fantastic you think it is right now, multiply it by 10, that’s how awesome this was. It’s definitely working to become a favorite of mine, and I’ve only read the first book. I love Sci-Fi, it’s one of my favorite genres, so I’m assured to love about everything with Aliens in it. This did not disappoint, not even close. When I say this book was fantastic, I genuinely mean, this book was fantastic. I read it in one sitting, finishing it at 2 am this morning (it’ll be days ago when you’re reading this), and I didn’t even realize it until right before I finished it. It was just so captivating, and fantastic (I should stop using that word lol, but it really was). The story follows Katy, it’s told in her POV in First Person. She’s an incoming senior and the story starts off in July. She’s just moved from Florida to a small town in West Virginia, and she doesn’t know anyone. Katy is a book blogger (like us) she has a book blog, does book reviews, and memes like Waiting on Wednesday, ect..Katy must be the most relatable character I’ve ever read. She loves to read a lot of paranormal which I think really helped her accept the aliens, I know it would help me. I’ve read and seen so many sci-fi already that if friendly aliens were to come here, I wouldn’t freak out. If Aelyx (Alienated) or Daemon showed up next door, that would be heaven ♥ 

Daemon Black, wow, just Daemon Black. He’s perfect. He’s arrogant, rude, beautiful, gorgeous and a lot of things lol. He was a very fun character to read about, it would’ve been nice to read from his point of view. Apparently, there’s a novella set before Obsidian called Shadows, I don’t know if it’s in his pov, but I’ll read it anyways. 

Then there’s Dee, and she’s a sweetheart. I loved her and Katy’s friendship, she was just such a great character. 

The book was filled with action, and romance, and amazing-ness! If you guys love sci-fi, even if you don’t, read the book. Just read it. I loved it so much (: 

Rating: 

wpid-ratings-hearts-picsarct_1.2.jpg.jpegwpid-picsart_1405271938211.jpg

Spoilers ⇓

Have I mentioned how fantastic this book was? lol 

Just starting off the book we’re introduced to Katy and she’s awesome. Her blog is called “Katy’s Krazy Obsessions” which is so cute. Then she goes next door and meets Daemon, who is totally rude, but we love him. Then she meets Dee who like I said is a sweetheart. We all already knew they were aliens, it says it right in the synopsis. Their powers are pretty cool though, I gotta admit. 

Then Katy got attacked which I have to agree with Daemon, who would help that guy, I mean he was creepy with a capital C. Humans really are gullible, the aliens are correct on that one, along with the fact that if aliens came, they’d freak out. 

Then there was Ash. Total B, if you ask me. Sucks because she sort of has my name. I wish I had a name that cute nicknames could be made out of, like with Katy,she has : Kat, Kitten, KatyCat, KittyCat… while my most common nickname is Ash, which I don’t mind, I do like it actually. Anyways, it was pretty obvious how unlikeable Ash was. I mean, I understand her overprotective ways, she’s like Daemon on that one, but while Daemon was charmingly rude, she was just rude. I loved when Katy dumped the spaghetti on her, that was awesome. Also Lesa, and Carisa, I like them. 

I loved the action in the book, after she found out what they were, and that she had a  trace on her. I loved the humor in the book too. 

I think it’s pretty obvious Daemon cares about her, when he rescued her at that party from Simon, and after that, they ran into the Arum, and Katy was pretty badass in that scene. Then again when Katy decided to make the Arum chase her to save Dee, which wasn’t the most thought out plan, but I understand why she did it, again it showed how much Daemon does care. 

For a second, I thought Dee was gonna die there, and that would’ve been so messed up, I was so scared, but she made it which was great. 

But that whole scene, the way Katy killed the Arum, I don’t really understand, and how Daemon healed her… now they’re like in sync or something and I’m still not fully understanding it, so I hope that’s solved out later on. 

The book was great, I loved it! Have you read it? What’d you think ? (: 

Wasn’t it fantastic 😀  xx 

wpid-1405129367174-1.jpg

6 thoughts on “Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout | Review

Leave a Reply

