Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi | Review

image

 Title: Ignite Me

 Author: Tahereh Mafi

 Series: Shatter Me #3

 Genre: YA, Dystopian, Romance 

 Page Count: 408

 Publication: February 4th, 2014 

 Publisher: Harper Collins

 Format: First, American Hardcover

 Source: Library

 

 

 

 

 Summary:

The heart-stopping conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series, which Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, called “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love.”

With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.

The Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent by Veronica Roth, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and Legend by Marie Lu. Tahereh Mafi has created a captivating and original story that combines the best of dystopian and paranormal, and was praised by Publishers Weekly as “a gripping read from an author who’s not afraid to take risks.” Now this final book brings the series to a shocking and satisfying end.

.

HOLY SHIT THIS BOOK!  (Excuse my language, but it had to be said, and there’ll be more of it) The book was literally so so good! The pacing was perfect, there wasn’t a single slow or dull part in this book. The character development was off the chart excellent. Guys, honestly just trust me on this. I feel like Tahereh has been holding out on us, but now she let it all go in this book, and it was beautiful. I was hooked! I couldn’t put the book down, I read a 100 pages and it felt like only 5 minutes had passed, that’s how good. The book was shorter then I wish it was though. The only thing I could say is that the end felt really short, but it wasn’t rushed in any way though, but I was still satisfied. I loved the ending, it was perfect; and Warner! OMG! Just Perfection. Speechless. Then we have Adam who was a complete asshole, really dislike him now, I might hate him just because of that one thing he did, I don’t care about the ending, he was a douche and should not have said that. I mentioned the character development, but it truly was pristine, Juliette’s character grew so much and so well from that character in Shatter Me. She was no longer that weak whinny little girl we first knew, and it was so beautiful to see her grow so much, I think Juliette is the one character that I’ve ever read about that has such an amazing character development throughout a series. The metaphors were still there in this book, but as opposed to how I found them to be a bit annoying in Shatter Me, in this book they were beautiful. There no longer was the annoying repetitions that were in Shatter Me, and also the cross-outs were no longer there, which also showed character development, she was no longer afraid to say what she wanted to say. This book is definitely my favorite in the series, and one of my favorites of the year. Tahereh Mafi has worked her way to becoming one of my favorite authors. This book was beautiful inside and out. The tag line : Fear Will Learn To Fear Me. I think that’s the most beautiful thing ever. I’m buying my own copy ASAP. If you guys read Shatter Me and stopped because of Juliette or the writing style, please continue one, I promise you it’s worth it. That’s all I have to say without spoilers, when you’re done with it, come back and discuss your feels (: xx 

Rating: 

wpid-ratings-hearts-picsarct_1.2.jpg.jpegwpid-picsart_1405271938211.jpg

 

Spoilers ⇓

Warner. Just Warner. Aaron Warner is perfection. Beyond that really. A beautiful angel from heaven. But at the same time he’s not. Which makes him perfect. I loved him since Destroy Me, and I love him even more now. He was so beautiful and vulnerable, and my heart just burst, his pain his joy, it was all so strong and real, and beautiful. Tahereh certainly knows how to write characters well. First, he’s with Juliette and it’s so beautiful and painful to watch. He then explains everything to Juliette, why he shot that soldier, why he took her in the first place *which was news to us*, that the thing with the baby was a stimulation, and Juliette realizes that he’s not horrible at all. I love how Warner was though, he didn’t want to people to believe he was some angel , when the Omega Point survivors asked him, how they should trust that he has their well-being in mind, and he straight up said he didn’t, I loved him for that, because he stayed true to himself throughout the book, not trying to get people to like him, because he didn’t care and wouldn’t change for anyone’s approval, I thought that was beautiful.                                                 When Adam was being an asshole to both Juliette and Kenji, telling Juliette to drop dead, I was just what the actual fuck is wrong with you asshole. I was pissed. Then Juliette, I loved how she handled it, the old Juliette would’ve cried in a corner, this one was better than that. Then she kept pressing the pager Warner gave her, and he came bursting through the door all scared for her, and I cried. He hugged her and I cried some more. I’m crying right now just thinking about it. Warnette is just so beautiful. 

When they went to the ruins of Omega Point and ran into Kenji, that reunion, just so beautiful. Their friendship in this book, so beautiful. I feel like I use the word beautiful a lot, but that’s because that’s what it was. Then she started telling Kenji all that happened and his reactions were priceless, you guys already know how much I love Kenji, but yea, I love Kenji. I want a best friend just like him, or be his first love lol I just adore that kid. He’s such an amazing best friend, and person, he’s funny, and I can relate to that kid so much ♥ 

Okay so Juliette, I love her now. Her plan was fantastic, although her becoming supreme I didn’t see coming, but I think she’ll do well with a little help from her friends. She was super badass, like Katniss and Rose badass. At the end, at the boat, wow, then when she met Anderson and crushed his ankle. Oh oh! When she figured she could touch people (another asshole moment for Adam) I figured it would happen, more like I wanted it to happen, but I believed it would happen, and it did. It was such a beautiful moment, everyone came to hug her and shake her hands, and Kenji was all I’m so proud of you, awe. Then she was all, you know what this means, she doesn’t have to be with anyone by default and Kenji got it, I got it, and she ran to Warner which was another beautiful moment. 

Warner’s mom had just died, which when Juliette ran in and he was just broken, and he cried in her lap, I collapsed. But Warner felt like she was in a better place now, no longer in pain, but it was still heartbreaking. 

Then came the part when Juliette said I love you, and he was all No, No you don’t know what you’re saying and she’s all no I love you, and I’m all stop you’re killing me lol. Chapter Fifty Five was everything. Better then Chapter 62 of Unravel Me, better then anything, it was perfect beyond words. They had their fair share of beautfiful moments too, and you know how in my Shatter Me review, I said how I felt Adam and Juliette’s relationship was more  physical then anything else, and that was before I was team Warner. With Warner and Juliette in this book, they had their steamy physical relationship too, but it never felt like it was just about that, it was much deeper than that, and it was something she never had with Adam. What Juliette realized she felt about Adam, was what I saw reading about them, he was the first person to show her kindness, and who was able to touch  her, she thought that was love, it was just lust. With Warner, that was what love is, what is should be like, that’s the beauty of it. 

Then, there was that moment when Warner finally found James and Adam were his brothers. BTW, James and Warner’s relationship was beautiful, they acted like brothers without even knowing it. The way Warner and Adam’s relationship is going to be, I didn’t see it coming. I didn’t think it could happen, but I’m so glad it is. Warner deserved to have a family, even if it consists of asshole Adam, although idk if he redeemed himself or not. there was that weird moment between him and Juliette on page 351 which I’m not sure about, what exactly was he referring to, herself or her and Warner? 

Then the ending, was pure beauty. Juliette’s announcement, and the way it ended, I was satisfied, I do wish we’d gotten a epilogue, but I’m still content with it. It kind of ended the same way Champion did, and I was content with that as well. This book was wonderful from cover to cover, literally. 

What were your thoughts and feels? I’d love to know (: xx 

 

4 thoughts on “Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi | Review

Leave a Reply

