Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins | Review

 

Title: Isla and the Happily Ever After 

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Series: Anna and the French Kiss #3 (Companions) 

Page Count: 339

Publication: August 14th, 2014

Publisher: Dutton Books 

Format: First, American Hardcover 

Source: Purchased 

 

 

 

Summary: (Goodreads) 

From the glittering streets of Manhattan to the moonlit rooftops of Paris, falling in love is easy for hopeless dreamer Isla and introspective artist Josh. But as they begin their senior year in France, Isla and Josh are quickly forced to confront the heartbreaking reality that happily-ever-afters aren’t always forever.

Their romantic journey is skillfully intertwined with those of beloved couples Anna and Étienne and Lola and Cricket, whose paths are destined to collide in a sweeping finale certain to please fans old and new. 

.

I really loved this book. Lola still remains my favorite though, and I need to re-read is soon because it’s been years. I definitely recommend you at least read Anna before reading this, because you’ll get some spoilers, and I’m not talking about them being together, everybody knows that already. Isla Martin we met shortly in Anna, when Anna saw that she was crushing on Josh who had a girlfriend (Rashmi) at the time. Josh obviously we knew also from Anna, and I loved hiim in Anna, and I love him even more now. He likes art, which made me fall instantly. Josh is Etienne (Eh-tee-n) – because too many people pronounce it wrong- best friend, and if you remember from the end of Anna, they were all graduating expect for him, so he was really sad about that. Anna, Etienne, Lola and Cricket show up in this book, and it was oh so beautiful. Page 313 guys, trust me. So back to the book, Isla has had a crush on Josh since freshman year, this book was different because instead of most of it being the build up to the relationship, and then them getting together at the very end, in this they got together quite early and the book was more about their relationship. I really liked Isla until a certain point in the book (after the rabbits, you’ll get it once you read it) she got really annoying, and became the obnoxious whinny jealous girlfriend, for no reason ( not a good one at least ) and I started to dislike her more and more, but then as expected she  came around, and I like her again! She’s my least favorite of the three, but that’s only because I love Lola and Anna so much. I liked her love for fashion, and her style, quite similar to mine, except I’m tall, she’s short. I guess that’s why I loved Lola so much, her love for fashion was amazing. Isla’s friendship with Kurt was really nice, and I love how she chose him, and he’s a really great friend. Their relationship was so cute, they were special and beautiful together. I loved the book. I flew through it, just as I knew I would. I love that it was set in New York, Paris, and Barcelona. I also love the cover. I don’t know what else too say. Did I love it as much as the other two? No. I had very high expectations for this book, very high, and I’m happy to say I wasn’t disappointed. I’m going to buy physical copies of Anna and Lola as soon as I possibly can, because I know I’m going to want to re-read those books a lot. Again, if you haven’t read this yet, don’t forget to read Anna first, and Lola too while your at it, because it’s wonderful. 

This one wasn’t my favorite of the series, but I think it’s definitely one of my favorite books. 

Rating:

wpid-ratings-hearts-picsarct_1.2.jpg.jpeg  wpid-picsart_1405271938211.jpg

 

 

Spoilers ⇓

The book starts off with Isla having just gotten her wisdom teeth removed. She goes to this cafe and sees Josh there, and decides to talk to him, they talk, he walks her home, it rains, and yea. Okay so anyways, they go back to Paris, and turns out this whole time Josh thought she and Kurt were dating, but he asks her out, they have a great time, and relationship happens. Okay let me stop trying to explain the book. I loved Josh, I loved how he is. When they finally kissed for the first time, and he ends up like almost breaking her nose, how cute lol. I’m looking at the book right now, and I can’t get over how beautiful the cover is. Anyways, I’m getting too distracted. I loved each time St. Clair and Anna were mentioned, and the proposal omg, but we’ll get to that later. 

When they went to Barcelona to like do their thing, I didn’t expect them to get caught, I mean i guess they didn’t go just for that, but you’re in Paris, the city of love, there’s no better place. Then there was the whole thing with her relationship with Hattie, I really thought she was a b**** but then the girl Sanjita, said the thing about how she treated her differently then she treated Gen, I don’t have an older or younger sister (sadly) so I don’t know, but I guess I do understand. 

Then came the breakup, which I saw coming, I actually thought she would end the book with them broken up, that would’ve been different, but the breakup happened way too early for it to end like that, and this was a cutesy contemporary, so it wouldn’t. Isla was being extremely annoying about it all, she was jealous of how much Rashmi was in the book, but seriously it was not that serious. It’s his book about his life, and Rashmi was in a good part of it, he had a life before her and she didn’t seem to be able to accept that. Besides, she asked him to read it, she should of had been prepared. Her criticism about it, I didn’t read the actual comic so I didn’t know but it felt like a lot of it was because of Rashmi and her only being in “8 pages”. I was just like what is wrong with you? You just started dating a month ago, it takes time for him to draw all this, and what did you expect? That’s the point were she was being obnoxious and jealous and I hateee that. She hurt poor Josh, and when I read what he dew iin his comic about New Years and wanting to hurt her as much as she hurt him. Yes. I agree. She deserved it. But they did get their happily ever after which I loved because I started re-liking Isla after she got over herself, and the whole “I’m not worthy of love” phase. 

Now the proposal. The most beautiful thing, also because he went back to the Notre Dame cathedral thingy, and the Point Zero which is a special spot for them, and I cried, just rivers. It made sense that they’d be the  one’s to get engaged first, because their story was published first, and I don’t care that they’re nineteen, they’re soul mates. Then they kept pointing out how this could be bitter sweet for Mer, wasn’t she like over it already. I don’t remember if she was at the end of Anna, but seems to me like she should be. Nonetheless, I know she was happy for them, and that was nice. Such great friendship between them all, I do wish we’d seen Rashmi though, I really liked her too. 

The ending of the book was lovely. I’m sad this is the last of them we’ll see but I’m excited to hear about Steph’s new work and she’s an amazing author who writes phenomenal books. She’s one of the queens of contemporary. She’s great.

What were your thoughts on the book? Pleased? Disappointed? Which one is your favorite? Let me know xx  

 

2 thoughts on “Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins | Review

  1. theintrovertedschmuck says:

    I am so conflicted! I love Anna and now I love Isla! Actually, it has ended up as an Etienne vs Josh thing.
    Joshua Wasserstein is so dreamy! Steph writes the male protagonists so well!
    I think, writing style wise Isla is better. I could see that Steph has come a long way from Anna.
    I hope she writes again soon 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

