The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken | Review

 

Title: The Darkest Minds

Author: Alexandra Bracken

Series: The Darkest Minds #1

Genre: YA, Fantasy 

Page Count: 488

Publication: December 18, 2014 

Publisher: Disney Hyperion 

Format: First, American Hardcover 

Source: Borrowed 

 

Summary: 

When Ruby woke up on her tenth birthday, something about her had changed. Something alarming enough to make her parents lock her in the garage and call the police. Something that gets her sent to Thurmond, a brutal government “rehabilitation camp.” She might have survived the mysterious disease that’s killed most of America’s children, but she and the others have emerged with something far worse: frightening abilities they cannot control.

Now sixteen, Ruby is one of the dangerous ones.

When the truth comes out, Ruby barely escapes Thurmond with her life. Now she’s on the run, desperate to find the one safe haven left for kids like her—East River. She joins a group of kids who escaped their own camp. Liam, their brave leader, is falling hard for Ruby. But no matter how much she aches for him, Ruby can’t risk getting close. Not after what happened to her parents.

When they arrive at East River, nothing is as it seems, least of all its mysterious leader. But there are other forces at work, people who will stop at nothing to use Ruby in their fight against the government. Ruby will be faced with a terrible choice, one that may mean giving up her only chance at a life worth living.

.

How did I feel about this book? Well, I went into with really very high expectations, because of all the hype, and while I wasn’t disappointed, I wasn’t necessarily blown away. I didn’t get into the book until Ruby met Liam and that was well over a 100 pages into it, and I wasn’t completely hooked until page 300. After that page, the book is epic and amazing, but before that it was mostly -mehh, if you know what I mean, it was just okay. It really reminded me of Shatter Me, because Ruby kept thinking she was this monster and she couldn’t control her abilities and everytime someone touched her, her abilities would show up (are you starting to see the similarities) but they stopped there, Ruby was nowhere near being that weak character Juliette was in Shatter Me. She was actually pretty strong, and independent, which I really enjoyed, and by the end of the book she was even stronger. So basically, there was this disease where every child between the ages of 8-14, well they were “infected” sorta. It actually has the same concept The Young Elites has, but this was published before so yea. Anyways, Ruby was ten, and something happened, which in turn got her picked up by the PSF. Basically this book is set in the near future, which is why I don’t really consider it a dystopian but the world has gone to shit. Well not the world, the United States to be specific. Mexico and Canada have built walls to keep us out, and them in. Plot wise, the book is very interesting, they set up camps (concentration camps, pretty much just like with the Holocaust and Hitler) they sent all the kids there in pretense that it was a “Rehabilitation camp” and they were trying to get the kids “better”. You’ve obviously figured out already that it was a bunch of B.S, but the people bought it. The writing, was nice, I didn’t really get confused, except at first, when Ruby was using her abilities, it was a bit confusing. The characters were fantastic. My favorite is definitely Liam. He’s so sweet, and caring, and he’s just a great person overall. I also love Zu, she’s fantastic, and so is Chubs. They were all written so deeply and wonderfully. It was next to impossible not to care for them. The twists in this book were beautifully done. The ending was heartbreaking, and frustrating, and yet again still beautiful. While this whole book didn’t meet my expectations, the end starting from page 300 did. It’s still not one of my favorite books, but I am really looking forward to reading Never Fade and In The Afterlight when it’s released. Do I recommend this book? Yes, I do. If you love fantasy, kick-ass leads, (sorta)dystopian, then you’ll love this, at the very least you’ll like it. 

Rating:

wpid-ratings-hearts-picsarct_4.jpg.jpeg 

Spoilers ↓ 

Starting this book. I was really confused as to what her power was. I thought it was that she could see memories, and had the same power as that first kid that made that PSF shoot herself. Then came the thing with Sam, which was very confusing, and turns out she had erased herself just like she had done with her parents. Then there’s the breakout with Cate, and I really thought that Cate was the good guy, and that she was working with Liam…but nooooo. Anyways like I said, I really got interested when she met Liam, and that whole scene was fantastic, how she just pops up from the backseat and Liam does a double take lol. I loved Liam from the second I met him. I loved Ruby and Liam’s relationship, it’s just they got closer and closer and they started acting like they were dating, but they weren’t. I loved that. When she lied to them about her “photographic memory”  which was really dumb because that’s not something you can cover up… but then that’s what greens are, but then when she finally showed them her power and she woke up and we all thought they were talking about leaving her, and Chubs was all, ” We were talking about Black Betty, not your Orange ass” lol. I loved how they made her part of them now. 

Okay so when they finally got to East River, wait first, when they figured out the message, that was really the turning point of the story for me.Then they obviously had their fair share of obstacles on their way, but then they got there. The slip kid was Clancy Gray, the presidents son. Did I see that coming? Absolutely not. I really like him at first, and I started to trust him, even though I had this little voice in the back of my head, this little after thought telling me I’d regret it, so I was always on the edge with him. I really started to not trust him when he asked her to teach him how to erase memories, because I was certain he was going to use it on Liam. It was pretty obvious he was really into her, and jealous of him, and while I did like him at first, I loved Liam, so yea. Then when she let him enter her mind,  I agreed with him, it was very naive of her. It was so obvious that that little voice telling her she wanted him was ACTUALLY HIM. So so creepy though, and sad that he had to do all that for her to be interested. 

Then when they invaded the camp, I felt so bad for all the other kids, they put all their fate in him, and he was such a disappointment. I’m so glad they were all reunited though, and Chubs got his message and it was all going great, but then… it all goes to shit (again). They should’ve read Jack’s letter, but his dad though, that was a bit extreme. I was so scared Chubs would die, so so scared, but he’s alive, I’m sure of it. 

Then came the ending, which I just… I didn’t think Ruby would’ve done that. I thought she’d tell him that they would let him go, and I knew he probably wouldn’t have agreed to leave without her, but still! It was so sad to see him walk away, but just made me more excited for Never Fade (I’ll read In Time, the novella, before) but yea. But like I said Ruby got even stronger by the end of the book and that was amazing. I really want to know what happens next, I feel like Liam is going to slowly get his memory back and see her and they’ll have this beautiful and heartbreaking reunion (I really hope they do omg). 

But yea! Those were my thoughts! Share yours (: xx 

wpid-img_20140711_215946.jpg

7 thoughts on “The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken | Review

  1. Lina says:

    I agree with everything you said; I liked the book as well, but that’s it. To me, it was one of those stories that you enjoy while expiriencing it but immediately forget about it afterwards. I was a huge fan of the characters, they were well developed and fun to read about, and by far, my favourite was Chubs. He felt so real and reminded me of one of my friends, so that was kind of cool. My biggest trouble with the book was that it wasn’t addicting or exciting at all, it just didn’t kept me reading. Towards the ending I happened to enjoy the book a lot more because that’s when it starts to get more and more action-packed, but the first 200-300 pages were pretty boring, to be honest. Loved your review! ^.^
    Lina | http://obsessedbibliophile.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

