The Elite by Kiera Cass | Review

 

Title: The Elite

Author: Kiera Cass

Series: The Selection #2

Genre: YA, Dystopian, 

Page Count: 336

Publication: April 23rd, 2014

Publisher: HarperTeen 

Format: e-book

Source: Owned

 

 

 

Summary: 

The Selection began with thirty-five girls.
Now with the group narrowed down to the six Elite, the competition to win Prince Maxon’s heart is fiercer than ever—and America is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it with Maxon, who could make her life a fairy tale? Or with her first love, Aspen?

America is desperate for more time. But the rest of the Elite know exactly what they want—and America’s chance to choose is about to slip away.

.

Writing this right now, I’ve just finished The One (days ago when you’re reading this), but don’t worry, I won’t let it affect my review or spoil you for it. I read both this book and it’s sequel in a couple of hours. I stayed up until 3 am this morning to finish this (which is funny because Kiera states something similar in her acknowledgements, as if she knew) and as for The One, I’ve just finished it about an hour ago. I really enjoyed this book, it was just as addicting and entertaining as it’s prequel. I couldn’t put it down. Now if you’ve heard anything about this series, it’s how annoying America is in this book especially, she wasn’t actually that bad, not as bad as I had expected at least. Mostly she was just really frustrating, her decisions (especially those regarding Aspen) were infuriating and frustrating to such an extreme. It came to points where I could not stand her. With the way The Selection ended, I had hope for her, hope that she’d see the error of her ways and how amazing Maxon was and that she’d just get over Aspen, but nooo. She kept meeting him in secret, talking about how confused she was, and that was even more infuriating because something (very heartbreaking) had happened by that point regarding something similar, I had thought she would’ve learned from it, apparently not. There isn’t much I can say since this is a sequel, but I do have a review for The Selection and I’ll link it below if you wanna know more. Overall, I did enjoy this book more then The Selection, because besides America being the frustrating character, it was awesome. I do recommend this series, it’s really entertaining, it’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but I think there are high chances of you enjoying it. Besides Prince Maxon is amazing, and you’ll instantly love him. There are two novellas, The Prince (in Maxon’s POV) and The Guard (in you guessed it, Aspen’s POV) and I’m looking forward to reading them both. 

The Selection Review

Rating: (4 stars on Goodreads)

4.5.wpid-ratings-hearts-picsarct_jpeg 

 Spoilers ↓ 

I read this on my phone, so I didn’t write physical notes, they’re all highlighted and added in to the ebook, so I’ll be looking through. 

I loved when Maxon showed her the library, and then there was the computer (which she’s never seen) and it was just such a sweet scene, and how wonderful it was that he threw an Halloween party just because of her, this is why I love Maxon so much, he gives her so much, he could give her so much, and I don’t mean the luxuries because she doesn’t want all that, I mean that he cares about all those little things that make her happy and goes out of his way to do them. I honestly didn’t get why America was so hesitant. She was so hung up on Aspen, and I’m not saying she never loved him, I just think this was like an Adam/Juliette situation, he was the first person she got close to, he’s just a reminder of her past, but with Maxon, that was her future. 

Then we have Marlee, and America’s friendship which is totally wonderful. I actually saw the romance with Carter (Woodwork) coming, since America ran into him, and when she told Marlee she was giggling, and then at the dance he asked her to dance, because he knew she was Marlee’s friend and he wanted to get to know her better. I don’t know but I did see it coming. It made perfect sense, but I can’t believe they were so careless to get caught like this. The whipping scene, was heartbreaking, I loved how he kept telling her he loved her, and that it would be okay, and I loved how America wanted to fight for her. Maxon’s reactions to her cries for him, were honestly just as heartbreaking. When it was all over and he came to her room, I understood her anger, and how upset she was, I would be too, I was, but I also knew Maxon wouldn’t have let it happen if he could’ve done something, and for her to go off on him like that, I guess that was fine she was angry…but then she goes 

..what an idiot I’d been. I’d almost given up on the one person in the world who really knew me, really loved me.

and I’m just -__-. You’re being overdramatic. Then she goes of to all her little secret dates with Aspen and I am pissed as hell! Have you learned nothing?! Your best friend was just whipped and stripped  of her title for doing the exact same thing! I really hoped they had gotten caught at points because I felt like America really deserved it, and Maxon did not. Aspen started saying those things about Maxon and being the dumbass that she is, she believed him. I was so disappointed, seriously, how can anyone be this dumb. The thing is, I know she’s not, she’s pretty smart actually, she just makes the stupidest, dumbest decisions. I was honestly so frustrated, there are a lot of not nice words in my notes regarding her. As soon as she was going to do something like her philanthropy project, the way she was speaking, I knew she would be doing something dumb, and I’m just so scared for her at those times, because I know she’s going to embarrass herself, do something stupid; although her actions always seem to have some good things  come out of it. 

Then came the party thing with the Italians, and it was so awesome seen the princess root for her. America was so unsure of herself, and unsure of whether or not she’d make a good princess, and I knew she would. It upset me to see Aspen say she couldn’t do it, but I think he meant well. Aspen is sweet and I like him, I really do, but only as a friend for Mer, nothing else. 

When she ran into Celeste and Maxon in the hallway, and she made that whole big deal about it…Um…excuse you? She had no right to be angry with him, when she’s cheating on him with Aspen. He had already chosen you, he told you that and you screwed it up, he can do what he wants and you’re in no position to judge. I was so annoyed. 

The fact that the King whipped-whips Maxon, I hated him so so so much! I knew Maxon didn’t want him to die, but I did, I really did. What kind of person does that to their child, and I really don’t understand how the Queen ever even loved him, he’s awful, a monster. 

Then came the ending! When America thought she’d gotten kicked out, and she finally, FINALLY, realized that she should fight for Maxon, I was so relieved, no more crap with Aspen, go get your man! lol but really I was getting tired of the selection, I wanted it all to end, and for them to just be together, and work together to make the country better. I loved the ending. 

Okay! That’s it! Share your thoughts xx 

I’m going to go write my review for The One now (: {I loved it}

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Elite by Kiera Cass | Review

  1. missdarcy87 says:

    I read all three in 2 days, they were addicting. I agree with you that America was annoying regarding her decisions about Maxon. That really irritated me! I still have to read the novellas, and The Queen is coming out next year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

