The Young Elites by Marie Lu | ARC Review

 

 

 Title: The Young Elites

 Author: Marie Lu

 Series: The Young Elites #1

 Genre: YA, Fantasy

 Page Count: 353

 Publication: October 7th, 2014

 Publisher: Putnam Books for Young Readers

 Format: ARC/ Paperback

 Source: Provided to me by the publisher for an honest review. 

Summary: 

I am tired of being used, hurt, and cast aside.

Adelina Amouteru is a survivor of the blood fever. A decade ago, the deadly illness swept through her nation. Most of the infected perished, while many of the children who survived were left with strange markings. Adelina’s black hair turned silver, her lashes went pale, and now she has only a jagged scar where her left eye once was. Her cruel father believes she is a malfetto, an abomination, ruining their family’s good name and standing in the way of their fortune. But some of the fever’s survivors are rumored to possess more than just scars—they are believed to have mysterious and powerful gifts, and though their identities remain secret, they have come to be called the Young Elites.

Teren Santoro works for the king. As Leader of the Inquisition Axis, it is his job to seek out the Young Elites, to destroy them before they destroy the nation. He believes the Young Elites to be dangerous and vengeful, but it’s Teren who may possess the darkest secret of all.

Enzo Valenciano is a member of the Dagger Society. This secret sect of Young Elites seeks out others like them before the Inquisition Axis can. But when the Daggers find Adelina, they discover someone with powers like they’ve never seen.

Adelina wants to believe Enzo is on her side, and that Teren is the true enemy. But the lives of these three will collide in unexpected ways, as each fights a very different and personal battle. But of one thing they are all certain: Adelina has abilities that shouldn’t belong in this world. A vengeful blackness in her heart. And a desire to destroy all who dare to cross her.

It is my turn to use. My turn to hurt.

.

I really loved this book. It’s told in 5 different perspectives, but most of the story is from Adelina Amouteru’s point of view. The story is set in 1361, and follows Adelina Amouteru who is a “malfetto” as well as a ” young elite”, a malfetto is someone who survived the blood fever, they are left with a marking of some sort, and considered an abomination in society. A young elite is a malfetto with special abilities. There is a special group of Elites called The Dagger Society (Daggers for short ), they seek others like them before the Inquisition can. The leader of that society is Enzo. They run across Adelina, and thus their journey begins. The setting was beautifully done, I could picture it based on the descriptions she gave, which was great. I loved the Legend series by Marie Lu, so going into this I had high expectations, and it didn’t disappoint. The story has a fast start, and keeps that fast paced throughout most of it. There were some brief moments in the book where I felt like she was trying to fill in spots in the story, in order to make it a reasonable length, but those were brief as the story would pick back up again. The writing was beautiful, I wasn’t really ever bored while reading it, the ending specifically was epic, and I couldn’t put it down once I got to that point. It was heartbreaking, but epic nonetheless. I’m already anticipating the sequel, and this book isn’t even out yet. While I was reading it, and approaching the end, I didn’t understand why exactly this was a series, because the conflict seemed to be getting resolved, but then something happens. Something totally and completely unexpected. There were a lot of twists throughout the series, which is another thing I appreciated. I had a lot of shocked, confused, sad moments reading this. There are some twists that I don’t think anyone could expect. It was great.

Now onto the characters. Adelina is a really dark character, her thoughts and her heart are filled with darkness, she feels pleasure from others pain, but she’s not evil, not necessarily. I couldn’t really relate to her, I realized towards the end of the book that I felt no real attachments to her, that’s not Marie Lu’s fault, it’s just my personal reaction. She’s had a rough past, and is still having a pretty rough time, there were sometimes in the book where she would make a decision, and I wouldn’t know what to think, what side she was truly on, but she’s actually pretty smart, smarter then I gave her credit for. Then there’s the lovely Enzo,whom I love, I don’t know if I could say I related to him exactly, but I did connect with him. He was a very interesting character throughout. I was really invested in his story and his actions, I think I enjoyed reading from his point of view the most. He’s my favorite. Then there was Raffaele whom I have mixed feelings about, we got few chapters in his perspective, and I don’t feel like I know him well enough. Then there’s Teren who’s a complete douche. I don’t think I need to say more, when you read the book you’ll realize why, but there are some points in the book where I could feel a bit sorry for him, and he’s also an idiot, just saying. This book was spectacular, since this is an ARC review, I’m trying to say as much as I can in the non-spoiler section of this review. There is a love story in this book, and some might consider it as “insta-love” but at the same time not really, I mean it was the most likely path but it’s also the path you’re going to want it to take while reading, so I don’t think you as a reader would be disappointed by it. When that point in the story came, I was actually pretty happy, grinning from ear to ear like a child on Christmas morning. ♥ I loved her writing in this, although it didn’t seem as old school as I thought it should be since it’s set in the 14th century, but that’s not a very big issue to me. Marie Lu, really knows how to write a beautiful story, and keeping you on the edge of your seat, and also making you want more with her endings (*cough* Prodigy *cough*) She really is one of my favorite authors, and I’m so glad this book didn’t disappoint! (: She can write Dystopia and Fantasy like a true Queen 😀 ♥

Do I recommend this book? YES I DO! 

Rating:

wpid-ratings-hearts-picsarct_1.2.jpg.jpeg

Spoilers!

I wasn’t sure whether or not I should include a spoiler review for this book, since I’m writing this in August, and it’s not going up until the end of September, but I figured I’d do it anyways (:

DON’T READ ON UNLESS YOU’VE READ IT BECAUSE YOU DO NOT WANT TO BE SPOILED, TRUST ME! 

LAST CHANCE! (: 

I think I’ve said all I needed to say about the book above, so this is just going to go into some specifics, so it shouldn’t be too long.

So Adelina’s power is to create Illusion, which is a pretty cool power. Though mixed with her dark heart, it’s bit more dangerous. She killed her father, well not really but sorta. The horse, technically killed him, but she was the spark.

The morning of her execution the Reaper (Enzo) rescues her and like I said before, the journey begins.

Raffaele, I think he was in love with Enzo, in the end he says ” I loved him too ” to Adelina, but I’m not sure what kind of love it was, but I think it was romantic one, who knows..

Speaking of Enzo. I’m not okay with the ending, I’m pretty sure they’er going to bring him back, I was shocked when he died, but then I thought of how they mentioned that one Elite with healing powers, and I knew that wasn’t pointless. The epilogue pretty much confirmed that. Although, what she said about her brother changing over the years… is that going to happen to Enzo too?

It was her fault, I know she didn’t mean it, but it’s her fault he’s dead. She also killed Dante without meaning to (foreshadowing) but no one really cared about Dante, so that was an oh well.

I loved the ending, pre-epilogue. It got me really excited to see what comes next. Is she going to create her own society? Is she going to bring him back?

Also, the epilogue was a nice twist because apparently that Crown Princess is in love with Lucent, and since she’s heir to the throne, she has to marry in order to birth an heir; with Lucent that cannot happen, so that’s a nice twist to look forward to.

What did you think? Were you pleased or disappointed? Let me know (: xx

wpid-img_20140711_215946.jpg

19 thoughts on “The Young Elites by Marie Lu | ARC Review

  1. Maria says:

    I’ve been on the fence as to whether or not I should read this book but you made it sound so good! I think I’ll be picking it up and hopefully I like it as well 🙂

    Like

  2. Jessica says:

    Ah I’ve been meaning to request this off netgalley but at the same time I really just want to wait and read it with everybody else. Really happy you enjoyed it though! Brings up my anticipation 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Elena says:

    I’m soo excited for this book! You made it sound so good too!1! Only a few more weeks!! Love your blog btw, new sub! I should create on of these maybe

    Like

  4. Molly Mortensen says:

    I just read this and I really enjoyed it! I totally agree with everything you said in this review! I didn’t realize it took place in 1361, but some parts came out weird on my ebook on my computer, so that’s probably why. You’re so lucky to get a print version of this book! I tried everything to get my hands on a copy. hehe! (At least I succeeded, even if I can’t read it again.)

    Boy I didn’t see that ending coming!

    [Spoilers in next paragraph.]

    I don’t know if she’ll bring him back or not. It seems too perfect there being a character no one wants to die who does and then another who can bring people back. With this series I’m not getting my hopes up. I wonder what the next book will be like?? I did love the she finally realized Violetta was there for her in the end part! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ωσя∂ѕωєнєαят says:

      I think she is going to bring him back, I mean it makes no sense to kill him off just like that, I think that’s what she was trying to show with the way she ended it. I wonder too, I’m so excited to see where she goes with it! Yes, I love the little bonding at the end (:
      Did your copy come with the map? It’s super pretty 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

