Ignite by Lily Paradis | Review

image

Title : Ignite

Author : Lily Paradis

Series : Ignite #1

Genre: YA-NA, Contemporary

Page Count : 275

Publication : August 26, 2014

Publisher : Empire Books

Format : eARC

Source: Provided to me by her publicist for an honest review.

Summary: 

After her father’s untimely demise in a mining accident and her mother’s abandonment, Lauren Lindsay is no stranger to loss. She’s used to living life for one person: herself. That is, until another family tragedy thrusts three children into her care and uproots her life in ways she could never imagine.

Lauren’s first instinct is to run, until she meets their striking, mysterious neighbor Dean Powell. Their immediate chemistry and his connection with her late father just might be enough to keep her in town long enough to uncover pieces of her past that she never had answers to. Dean’s shady past and her reluctance to trust him could cost her the life she’s always been searching for, but will she run back to her old life?

Or will she choose to stay and live the life her father always imagined for her?

.

(This review will be completely spoiler free) 

I don’t usually take part in Book Blog Tours because I haven’t found a book that really interested me, until this one. I’ve seen many reviews from fellow bloggers and also on Youtube, and the book grabbed my interest. I only got this spot in the tour because someone had dropped out, since I contacted her publicist just a few days ago. I’m so glad that person dropped out and I got the spot, because this book was amazing. It’s not really classified as YA or NA, it’s in between. The characters are NA aged, but the story is told like a YA one. It’s beautiful. You’ve read the summary but I’ll try to explain it more. Basically, our protagonist is Lauren, she’s 21 years old. She lost her dad a few years back, and her mom doesn’t really care about her at all. She goes to renew her license and there she meets this mysterious, gorgeous, amazing boy named Dean Powell. I don’t know if this is contemporary, it didn’t really feel like one to me, only because in contemporary novels usually the main focus of the story is the romance and then the other things happening were just there. With this book, the romance to me didn’t feel like the main focus, and that’s not a bad thing. It felt so real! What happens is that Lauren gets a call from her uncle, and she finds out that Linda, her dad’s new wife has died, and left her in the care of her three children. Now, I, immediately after reading that, said no. If it were me I’d say no. Honestly, can you imagine? Being 21, and becoming the guardian to not 1 but 3 kids? The whole situation honestly was so unfair. Then I met the kids and I instantly loved them, even Callie. It was honestly so conflicting, to Lauren and to me. I felt a connection to basically all the characters, even sweet little Emma, and that’s wonderful. I actually cared about them and what was happening to them.

Let’s talk characters:

Lauren, she’s totally relatable, and a great protagonist, I really enjoyed reading from her. She’s always trying to do the right thing, and she’s super responsible, and brave. I especially loved her relationship with her twin brother, all their scenes together were heart-warming.

Dean Powell, just Dean Powell. I can genuinely say that Dean Powell is the equivalent to Daemon Black (from the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout). Even their names look similar. They look alike, pretty much; and most importantly they are alike. Only thing is that Dean is not an alien (I wish) and he doesn’t come off as rude as Daemon did at first. He’s so sweet, and so caring for his sister, and the kids. His relationship with Emma was so precious ♥

Kenzie, the best friend everyone wish they had. She’s amazing.

Callie, she’s the angry teenager, but we can’t really blame her. I did like her a lot, and she comes around at the end. She’s my age, and I don’t know if I related to her exactly, but I did connect with her.

Chase, he’s the shy little boy, but I really liked him too. His scenes were perfect. He was just, awe♥

Emma, oh Emma. She’s the little sister I wish I had ♥

I loved how recent (might not be the word I’m looking for) this book was, there were references to recent and real things. I mean Frozen was mentioned, Frozen! ♡ and also Grease (my favorite movie) so that made it even more real. I mean, there are some things in there that the likelihood of it ever happening is really low (*cough*lake*cough* – though it’d be pretty nice) but it still felt real. The ending was nice, but I want more (:
PS: I love how Lauren loved Disney because I do too. Her favorite is Aurora (Sleeping Beauty ) and so is mine (: The thing Dean did for her regarding her love for Disney was honestly the most amazing thing, I cried.

Overall, I loved this book from cover to cover, it’s one of those books that’s short, but when you’re reading it, it doesn’t feel short, in a good way. I’d recommend everyone to read it, whether you read YA, or NA; it’s just a really good book. I’m really looking forward to the sequel in Dean’s POV ♥

Rating: 
image

💕 About The Author 💕

image

LILY IS 22 and recently graduated from the University of Colorado where she earned a degree in English Literature. She lives with her family and loves reading, running, and hiking. Although she’s a Colorado native, New York City is her favorite place in the world and fosters her borderline unhealthy obsession with the Empire State Building and F. Scott Fitzgerald. IGNITE is her debut novel.
 
For more information about IGNITE and her upcoming novels, visit www.lilyparadis.com
 
Lily loves to hear from her readers.
Contact her at: paradis.lily@gmail.com
 
Add Lily on Social Media:
 
Twitter: @LilyParadis
Tumblr: ersatz-paradise.tumblr.com
Instagram: @Lily_Paradis
.
.

wpid-img_20140711_220159.jpg

8 thoughts on “Ignite by Lily Paradis | Review

Leave a Reply

