The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan | Review

Title: The Blood Of Olympus

Author: Rick Riordan

Series: Heroes of Olympus #5

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Greek and Roman Mythology 

Publication: October 7th, 2014

Publisher: Disney Hyperion

Format: First, American Hardcover

Source: Purchased 

Summary: 

Though the Greek and Roman crewmembers of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen—all of them—and they're stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood—the blood of Olympus—in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it "might" be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea's army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.


This book has been a highly anticipated release for me, so I had very high expectations, and I’m glad to say, it met them. House of Hades left us, not really on a cliffhanger, but we knew that the battle would be happening soon. It was obvious, that Gaea would loose, just like Kronos lost in the original PJO series. I was very afraid as to which of the seven would die, because we were all sure that one of them would die, and the way it was all executed in the book was really amazing. There really isn’t much to say without spoilers, only that it was really good. If you guys haven’t read the Percy Jackson series, I really don’t know what to say, only that you need to get on that asap. If you’ve  read PJO and haven’t stated HoO yet, then please do, trust me. The first book isn’t as good as Lightning Thief but the series is really amazing.

Rating:

wpid-ratings-hearts-picsarct_1.2.jpg.jpeg


~Spoilers~

In this book, we got to read from the perspective of two new characters, Nico and Reyna, and that was so exciting. It’s no secret that Nico is one of my favorite characters in both series, and my love and respect for Reyna grew a lot in this book as well. I actually really shipped those two ( I still do) but we’ll get into that later. 

We didn’t get to read from Percy and Annabeth’s perspective which was really upsetting. because they’re pretty much the main. We got to read from Jason, Piper, Leo, Nico and Reyna. I thought we’d get to read from them all, but I guess we can’t get everything. I wished that we’d gotten less Jason and more Percy, not because I don’t like Jason but because I feel like Percy should’ve gotten his POV. Jason’s point of view was really important to the story, that I understood. All the perspectives we got were important to the story, but I do wish we’d read from Percabeth.

The fact that no one died, I’m not really complaining, I’m glad Leo survived. I knew Leo survived, he just, he can’t die. We would’ve been all so pissed had he died. Rick tried to make us believe he’d died, but it didn’t work out well. I loved his point of view though, he’s also one of my 3 favorites. I love how he and Percy really got along in this book, because I’ve wanted them to get along from the beginning, so that was satisfying. I don’t like the way it ended though, he ended it in a cliffhanger…..I wanted them to go back to Camp Half-Blood, I know they do, but I wanted to see it.

The battle in Greece when the Gods finally came to rescue, that scene was pretty nice, seeing Percy fight with Poseidon was the best (but it would’ve been better seeing it from his perspective) but yeah. Also, Zeus is literally such an ass. He had this little moment with Jason, and then once Jason states his opinion, he’s already giving him the look of death….

Reyna and Nico’s journey was really my favorite. I found myself looking forward to their chapters. Their relationship was beautiful, I really thought they should be together, but I am okay with Nico with Will. If I’m being honest I was pretty shocked with the whole Nico being gay thing, but I loved that scene he had with Percy when he told him about his crush and how he doesn’t like him anymore, and Percy was just so confused, it was funny. Nico’s character development was honestly one of the best I’ve ever read. I love Will, and even though they’re really only friends, I’m glad they have each other, and I’m glad Nico has Reyna. When she made her speech at the end and walked up to him and hugged him, that was emotional. Also, the whole thing with Reyna’s true love not being another demigod….I feel like it might be something deeper, but it might also just be that it’s not another demigod.

My favorite scene was when Percy said I love you to Annabeth. I remember Annabeth saying it to him in Mark of Athena, but he didn’t say it back….so I’m glad he finally did.

I liked the ending, but we didn’t get resolve with everything, especially Frank and his wood, I don’t understand. I really thought he’d die, but he didn’t which means what? He’ll live forever until the wood burns up?

I’m glad Caleo got their well deserved happy ending, but like I said, I wished they’d all come together at the end. I’m excited for his new series and maybe we’ll get some crossovers.

Share your thoughts!

xx

 wpid-img_20140711_220238.jpg

4 thoughts on “The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan | Review

  1. Caroline S. says:

    My review of this is coming out tomorrow! I was also disappointed that there was not a POV from Percy, and I did want someone to die. I really would have been fine with Jason and Piper dying, I never really loved them. I am excited about the foreshadowing with Annabeth’s cousin being the main character of Riordan’s Norse god series though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Molly Mortensen says:

    I agree the Last Hero wasn’t quite as good, but the others might be even better than the original. I loved hearing Nico’s voice finally and Reyna surprised me. I wanted MORE Percy too! I have hope for a short story set after Blood of Olympus.

    SPOILERS!

    I’m so glad no one died! If only we could’ve jumped head a little in that final battle with the gods, it was so EPIC! I kept peeking ahead to see when I’d get back to Nico. I thought Nico ‘came out’ in the last book when he was with Jason and Cupid. I NEED to hear that confession from Percy’s POV. I had a few questions at the end too, like how come Percy’s flaw didn’t come into play? Maybe it was a hint for a sequel! I know, I’m happily deluded. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

