Cinder by Marissa Meyer | Review

 Title: Cinder

 Author: Marissa Meyer

 Series: Lunar Chronicles #!

 Genre: YA, Sci-Fi

 Page Count: 390

 Publication: January 3rd, 2012

 Publisher: Feiwel and Friends

 Format: Paperback 

 Source: Owned 

Summary: 

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.


I loved this book. It’s been on my tbr for awhile and now that I finally had them all I read them. Cinder follows a girl named Cinder, she’s a cyborg.  She’s a mechanic, a very good one. The book is set in the future, there’s been 5 world wars, the planet formed an Earthen Alliance because of the Lunar threat.  She has two step sisters, and the step-mother. One of her step-sisters Peony is really nice to her. She reminded me of Anastasia because Anastasia was the nicest of the two. In case you didn’t know she ended up getting her own spin-off movie(s). Then we have Pearl who was the evil one. Cinder isn’t accepted because she’s a cyborg. She does have her android, Iko to keep her company though. One day while she’s at the market, the prince shows up and asks her to fix his droid. Prince Kai is so sweet. I know how his name is pronounced but I kept reading it as (kay) in my head for some reason. He’s amazing, honestly, you’ll love him. Then we have Levana, Lunar Queen. Basically, the moon is considered a planet, called Luna (which is the latin word for it) and it houses people called Lunars. They have the power to control others, it’s not magic, it’s science but that’s what they can do. Levana is, well evil, and she threatens the earth. She wants a marriage alliance with the CommonWealth, which is Kai’s country. He obviously doesn’t want to marry her, just like his father didn’t. There’s also this disease going around, Letumosis, and it’s killing the population.

I don’t know  what else I can say without spoiling, just that the book is fantastic. Even if you don’t like sci-fi, give it a chance, you’ll might be surprise to find out just how much you’ll like it.

Rating:

wpid-ratings-hearts-picsarct_1.2.jpg.jpeg

favoritesrating.jpg


Spoilers

Cinder being the princess I figured out as soon as Princess Selene was first mentioned. I also figured out she was Lunar pretty early on. I’m not saying the book was very predictable, usually I’m pretty good with this stuff.

Cinder and Peony’s relationship was heart warming. I was so upset when she died, I really hoped she would make it.

Prince Kai and Cinder. They were literally so cute. When he asked her to the ball, awe, and then Cinder said no, which I understood, but still. Kai is such an amazing guy, and leader and just human overall..

The ball was epic. I loved Cinder’s entrance and Kai’s reaction. Then when they were dancing and Cinder thought he knew she was cyborg. I think she should’ve told him then and there, but she didn’t. Then Levana was there and it all went down. When Kai picked up her leg, then he found out she was lunar it was all so sad. I felt so bad for both Cinder and Kai.

Dr. Erland and Cinder’s relationship was pretty awesome. For awhile I actually thought she was his lost daughter, but she’s Princess Selene, and she’s not a shell, so no, but their relationship is really nice.

I’ve already read the two other books out in the series already, and they were both amazing. I didn’t write many notes, so I’m sorry this review wasn’t too good.

Leave your thoughts below! (Don’t spoil the rest of the series because not everyone who’s read Cinder has read the others)

xx

wpid-img_20140711_220238.jpg

6 thoughts on “Cinder by Marissa Meyer | Review

  1. nadz2014 says:

    I have this on my TBR list. Guess I need to place it on my currently reading list. Love your review.Nadene@http://totallyaddictedtoreading.blogspot.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

