Scarlet by Marissa Meyer | Review

 Title: Scarlet

 Author: Marissa Meyer

 Series: The Lunar Chronicles #2

 Genre: YA, Sci-Fi

 Page Count:452

 Publication: February 5th, 2013

 Publisher: Feiwel and Friends

 Format: First, American Hardcover

 Source: Owned 

Summary: 

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison–even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive. Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.


I enjoyed this book just as much, if not more than it’s prequel. I have now read all three books published in this series and I think this one might be my favorite of them all. Scarlet isn’t my favorite out of the three main characters, I think I like Cinder a little more, but she’s in second place.

Scarlet is a re-telling of Little Red Riding Hood. She had red hair, wears a red hoodie, lives in a farm with her grandmother who’s gone missing. Very early on in the book we meet Wolf, and I loved him instantly, he’s adorable.

We also meet Captain Thorne and isn’t he a charmer. His and Cinder’s relationship was so cute. I loved seen both from Cinder’s perspective and Scarlet’s perspective, and I loved it even more when their paths crossed.

Since this is a sequel, I can’t talk much about it without spoiling it’s prequel. If you’ve read Cinder then there’s no reason why you wouldn’t want to continue on with the series, and if you haven’t yet, then I highly suggest that you do.

Rating: 

wpid-ratings-hearts-picsarct_1.2.jpg.jpeg

favoritesrating.jpg


I read this book awhile ago and I’m just now writing this review, so it probably won’t be as detailed.

Anyways, Scarlet was trying to find her grandmother, then she meets Wolf whom offers to help. I found the whole thing with the tomatoes so cute. It sort of became their inside joke.

A bunch of truth came out, like Scarlet being part Lunar, literally everyone is part Lunar one way or another, basically all of them in the little gang.

Wolf’s betrayal I didn’t see coming. I was so shocked, but I didn’t lose faith in him, I knew he’d turn back around, and he did.

Her grandmother dying, I didn’t expect either.

Wolf’s loyalty to both Scarlet and Cinder was cute. I love him, he’s so sweet.

Anyways, that’s all I have to say. Leave your thoughts below

xx

wpid-img_20140711_215946.jpg

4 thoughts on “Scarlet by Marissa Meyer | Review

  1. otakutwins1 says:

    I’m currently reading Cress and I just finished Scarlet and it’s my favorite out of the three so far ^^ I didn’t expect that about Wolf either…good review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kaily says:

    I can’t wait for the final book in Feb. This was such a well written series and I totally agree that it was so cool to view the characters through the eyes of multiple narrators. Cinder is still my fav too but just like you Scarlet is a close second 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

