Favorites of 2014 | Top 14 Books , TV , Movies

Im going to try to get this to 14, we’ll see how that works. Also, these are my favorite books I’ve read this year, not those that were published this year.

I don’t think this will be in any order except for the first two:

(All reviews are linked in the title of each book)


1. Eleanor and Park 

I think this book is now my favorite book, that spot used to belong to The 5th Wave, but I think this one is over it just a little bit. It was such a great book. It was my first Rainbow Rowell book, and I’m really glad it was, I’m excited about her other books.


2. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Favorite Science Fiction book. If you’ve been reading for awhile then you know how much I enjoyed this book.


3. The One by Kiera Cass

I was thoroughly surprised at how much I enjoyed this series, especially this book. It was such a fun read. I’m really looking forward to The Heir.


4. Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

Ignite Me (Shatter Me, #3)

I read the Shatter Me series, this book was so amazing. Ii was written so wonderfully, and it was such a great ending.


5. City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments, #6)

No explanation necessary


6. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

I couldn’t just pick one out of these, the whole series is so good.


7. Alienated by Melissa Landers 

Alienated (Alienated, #1)

I loved this book, it’s sci-fi which is one of my favorite genres, it has a great romance and it’s really funny.


8. Ignite by Lily Paradis

Ignite (Ignite, #1)

A coming of age, contemporary romance. It was such a nice book. I’ll link my reviews for all those books at the end, but I loved it.


9. The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

This is my favorite series. Clockwork Princess is my favorite of the three.


10. Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan 

 ♥♥♥


11. Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

This book is such a fun ride.


12. Vampire Academy & Bloodlines by Richelle Mead

I preferred Bloodlines over VA, but I did love them both.


13. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Etienne St. Clair is ♥


12. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling 

I got on the train this year, and it’s been a thrill so far. I’m on book 5 now and I hope to finish them all soon.



TV & Movies

I doubt I’d be able to come up with 14 for each category so I’m going to mash the together and see what happens. These are shows and movies that I’ve started watching or watched in 2014, I might mention a show I’d been watching before, if for example they had an outstanding season this year.

1. Doctor Who – BBC/ BBC America – Saturdays 

This show had taken over my life. The main reason I was in a reading slump was it. I binge watched it on Netflix (the first 7 seasons) and I’m now just starting s8, because I took some time to mourn Matt Smith. I’ll make a whole series review post about the show explaining who my favorite doctor was (11), my favorite companions (can you guess?), my least favorite companion (you guys might hate me for it) and my favorite episodes. I’ll do it after I’m completely caught up with the show though.

2. The Flash – The CW – Tuesdays at 8/7 c

This show is such a thrill. It’s one of the few shows that I actually kept on track on and watched live every week. Although, I haven’t watched the last two, because on Tuesday December 9th, their was an episode airing, but that was also the time the Pretty Little Liars Christmas Special was airing, so I obviously watched that instead, and missing that episode kind of threw me off. Anyways, I can say that I prefer this one to Arrow (which I’m also behind on).

3. The Originals – The CW – Mondays at 8/7 c

I actually started watching this show last year when it came out, because I’m a big Vampire Diaries fan and I loved the original family, but I fell behind after the 10th episode, and I just recently finished s1 on Netflix, and I had forgotten how much I loved that show. I know s2 just ended, and it won’t be uploaded on Netflix until around the time s3 comes on so I might have to watch it online.

4. The 100 – The CW – Wednesdays at 9/8 c 

I still haven’t watched s2 which just ended (I’ve fallen behind on basically every show I watch) but I did watch s1, and I loved it so much. The CW has some good shows now.

5. Reign – The CW – Thursdays at 9/8 c 

This series is set in 16th century France. I love shows set in this time period, the language and the fashion it’s all so elegant. I still have 5 episodes in s1 that I haven’t watched and obviously s2 also, but I will soon. If you guys like Outlanfer (which I’m planning on watching soon) or Games of Thrones (I’ll start watching next summer) you’ll probably like this because they’re set around the same time (at least Outlander is) and Mary (seen in the center above) is the queen of Scotland, and I know that’s where Outlander is set. Also, this is another one that started in 2013, and I actually started watching it in 2013, but I loved what I’ve seen so far so much that I had to include it.

7. Once Upon A Time – ABC – Sundays at 8.7 c

So I really loved Frozen, so I was super excited when I found out that OUAT would be including a Frozen arc into the show. I really enjoyed this pass mid-season. It was so much fun. I’m not really as excited for the new Ursula/Cruella/Magneficient arc coming along, but we’ll see. I mean Sleeping Beauty is my favorite Princess and Magneficient being there hopefully means we’ll see more of her and Philip, and Little Mermaid is my favorite disney movie, so Ursula being there means we’ll see more of Ariel.

8. Chasing Life – ABC Family – Mondays at 9/8 c

This show is about April, a 24 year old who finds out she has leukemia. It’s a very heartbreaking show, but it’s also very entertaining. I really like it. It used to be on Tuesdays at 9, but the next half season starting in January is a the new time. They moved The Fosters to Tuesdays now.

9. The Fosters – ABC Family – Tuesdays at 9/8 c

I honestly think starting watching this show last year when it first came out was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. This year it had such a great season too. Guys honestly I cannot stress this enough, even if you don’t like TV, please just watch this show. It’s not like the other shows, it touches up on real life issues, like adoption and LGBT and foster care and interracial couples. Trust me it’s great. I think they moved it to Tuesdays right after PLL because this show and PLL are their biggest shows, and a lot of PLL fans like myself also enjoy this show so they figured we’re likely to just stay in front of the TV for the extra hour, and it’s more convenient then having to tune in on Mondays at 9 and then again on Tuesdays at 8.

Now Movies 

10. The Fault In Our Stars 

Umm yea, no explanations needed. Here’s my review.

11. The Maze Runner 

Loved it. >> Review.

12. MockingJay Part 1 

Funny how all of these are B2M Adaptations >> Review.

13. Veronica Mars 

veronica_mars

I haven’t read the books, and I haven’t seen the show (it’s not on Netflix -__-) but I really really really loved this movie.

14. Think Like A Man 2 

That movie was really funny, the first one was funnier but this was really funny too.

So that’s it, I haven’t watched many 2014 releases, or I have and I just can’t remember them right now. There are a lot of movies that came out that I haven’t seen yet but I want to like If I Stay, The Giver, Winter’s Tale… Also, you might be wondering why Divergent isn’t on here, well while I did enjoy the movie, I don’t think I’d consider it one of my favorites.


 Yes, that’s it. This post took me a little while to finish. I’m going to hopefully be posting the end of year survey that’s going around soon, and I’ll be posting my most anticipated 2015 releases. I hope you guys had and have a great holiday.

Xx,

Ashley

wpid-img_20140711_220238.jpg


10 thoughts on “Favorites of 2014 | Top 14 Books , TV , Movies

  1. Veronika says:

    Lovely picks!
    I LOVED The One, I had my doubts because America was way too indecisive in The Elite for my taste but I ended up understanding her in The One completely. I hope The Heir will be just as amazing as the trilogy was. I only read Percy Jackson and the Olympians series and The Lunar Chronicles this year and they instantly jumped to my favorites, even though I wasn’t sure I’d like time. VA and Bloodlines are so amazing but I think it’s pretty obvious that The Bloodlines series were wrote after VA because Mead’s writing style changed for the better and she writes more detailed.
    The 100 is one of the few series that I can actually keep up with. It’s so exciting and I ship Clarke and Bellamy so badly.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. F x says:

    OMG we have so much in common!! E&P was my first book by Rainbow Rowell too and I frickin’ loved it!! I still have to read Shatter Me series and Lunar Chronicles!! Hardcore TMI fan here too, haha! 😀 Just very sad we won’t hear more of the characters now.. though I do hope the new Cassandra Clare series have them. I have The Infernal Devices series since last year and still didn’t get time to read it. I know I should read it right away and I will.. one of these days (we all know what this means). I want to buy Percy Jackson series but I am not sure if the series is that good. I don’t like repeated plots. Richelle Mead is a babe. I want to be her best friend – nuff said. Harry Potter is the best series ever. I read them last year, ahhh, awesome. I can’t wait to read a review on them by you!! 🙂 Doctor Who?? Like please, this is getting crazy. We are too similar haha. Love Doctor Who. Started watching it this year. Love, love, love. Oh I see you like the Michaelson 😉 i don’t believe people who say they don’t. OUAT is cool too!! Tfios movie made me cry more than the book.. book just didn’t have that much affect on me. I am not sure if The Maze Runner will be a good series.. I don’t like dystopian theme that much. Mockingjay was so much better than Catching Fire. Loved it!! And now my essay is over. I can write a favorites post with this comment alone, haha.
    Love your blog!! 🙂 I shall be visiting more now!! 🙂 xx
    Happy New Year! Have an extremely good one. Looking forward to knowing more about you! 🙂 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

