Cress by Marissa Meyer | Review

 Title: Cress

 Author: Marissa Meyer

 Series: The Lunar Chronicles #3

 Genre: YA, Sci-Fi

 Page Count: 550

 Publication: February 4th, 2014 

 Publisher: Feiwel and Friends

 Format: First, American Hardcover 

 Source: Owned 

SUMMARY:

In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.


I love this series, it gets better and better with every book and I’m so excited for Winter to see how it all ends. The reason I loved this book so much is because they were all finally reunited, and Cress was going to join the crew as well. When we’re first formally introduced to Cress, and I realized who she was, that was such a nice thing to include. It shows that she’d planned all her characters before writing book 1. Then, we also get to know that besides the fact that we’ve seen her before, she has a closer connection to an already known character. I figured out the connection really early on in the book before it was revealed to us. There were a lot of hints.

Anyways, this one didn’t take Scarlet’s spot as my favorite of the three books. As for characters, we’re introduced to Winter and Jacin, who are both going to be main parts of the final book Winter. Cress was my least favorite out of the three girls, I found her to be quite a bit annoying in her actions at time, which I mean she’s young, but still, I feel like she was just whiny and impulsive, and that got her into trouble way to many times. I hope she grows into a more and better developed character by the end of the next book.

The ending of the book, though, it makes you want to next one ASAP! I can’t believe we now have to wait until December, true we have Fairest, but it’s not the same.

It’s definitely one of my favorite series, and she’s definitely one of my favorite authors. Her writing style is perfect. It all flows perfectly, and the story is just beautifully planned out. Bottom line, I loved it.

Rating: 

wpid-2015-01-04-16-44-35.jpg

favoritesrating.jpg


Spoilers

Anyone else shocked when it was revealed that Cress was the same exact girl who told Cinder about Levana’s plan in Cinder? I certainly was.

So when Wolf said he loved Scarlet…. that was the cutest thing, and the way they both reacted, it was super sweet, and adorable. Even though Kai and Cinder are my favorite relationship in the series, I love them all, even Cress and Thorne.

I figured out Cress was Dr. Erland’s daughter pretty early on because of his references to his Crescent Moon, and I knew they were connected.

Cinder really got on my nerves a couple of times, especially when she opened that podship. It’s her fault Scarlet is gone. While we’re speaking of Scarlet, did she chop off her finger, because that’s a little messed up. I hope she didn’t, but by the looks of it, she did.

I love that we got Iko’s point of view! I feel like she might be killed in the last book though, I don’t want her to be, but she might.

I was so happy when Mira died, it was about time, I hated her, I think we all did.

Then when Jacin realized that Cinder was Princess Selene, and he smiled, that was funny because he and Cinder had had that whole Princess conversation when she thought he was talking about her, but truly he was speaking of Winter.

Then when Cinder FINALLY told Kai who she was. I’d been waiting for that moment for so long, and it was perfect. Then they kissed, my otp was back ♥

I’m so excited for Winter, the war has begun and it’s going to be so great. I’m scared to see who she sacrifices. She released that she killed someone who she wasn’t planning on killing at first, and I don’t know who that it. I just hope it’s not one of the boys, and I know Cinder is going to survive, I doubt she’d kill Scarlet and as for Cress, since she killed Dr. Erland (which I also saw coming) I doubt she’ll kill his only descendant too.

Let me know your thoughts

xx

signature1pink

16 thoughts on “Cress by Marissa Meyer | Review

  1. infinityreads says:

    Ahh I cannot wait! I recently read Fairest and I must say its worth a try. As to who Marissa might kill…I don’t think it would any of the couples so that only leaves Iko and I don’t wanna think about that ahhh

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cameran says:

    Ahhh! It’s so nice to be able to relate to someone, because Cress is my least favorite of the girls as well! Yet everyone else I talk to LOVES HER so I always feel as if I’m missing something. I’m also the same when it comes to Jacin — most seem to have hated him but I fell in love with him as soon as he started speaking

    Liked by 1 person

    • ωσя∂ѕωєнєαят says:

      Yes! They’re perfection!
      Levana truly is, I don’t know if she’s going to be the kind of villain we end up feeling sorry for, I was hoping that’s what Fairest was going to do but from the few reviews I’ve read it doesn’t seem like it, but she really fits the role nicely

      Like

  3. Safah @ Midnight Pageturners says:

    So glad to hear you enjoyed it! Cress is definitely my fave of the series so far and Fairest is sitting on my shelf waiting to be picked up. And yesss the Kaider moment at the end was adorable! But I have to admit Thorne and Cress are my otp when it comes to this series, can’t wait for Winter! It feels so far away sobs

    Liked by 1 person

  4. thereadingrebel says:

    I just read Fairest which was so fasinating and intersecting but I knew I shouldn’t have read the sneak chapters of Winter. I didn’t want them to end. I did figure out about Cress being the same girl that Cinder talked to in book one. I knew her books were going to be fairy tale retellings of Little Red Riding Hood,Rapaenzal(think I spelled this wrong),and Snow White and all that hair gave her away. My favorite book is Cinder and then Cress. Scarlet was my least favorite.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

