Frostbitten by Heather Beck | Review

22600360

Title: Frostbitten

Author: Heather Beck

Series: Frostbitten #1

Genre: YA, Paranormal Romance

Page Count: 296

Publication: June 3, 2014

Publisher: Enchanted Publishing 

Format: E-Book

Source: Review copy provided by the author for an honest review.

Synopsis:

Great beauty hides dark secrets…

Seventeen-year-old Anastasia Lockhart has never led an easy life, but when she starts getting into serious trouble, she’s sent to live with her grandparents in Cedar Falls. The small, picturesque town hasn’t changed since she visited four years ago, with one exception – the presence of a handsome, mysterious boy named Frost. Despite warnings from her grandparents and friends to stay away from Frost, Anastasia can’t deny their attraction, and the more time they spend together, the deeper in love they fall. Unfortunately, Frost has a secret that is beyond Anastasia’s wildest imagination, and she soon finds herself in the midst of a supernatural legend that has haunted Cedar Falls for years.

Can Anastasia and Frost’s love really overcome anything, or are their fates much darker?


I have to start off by saying that I was pleasantly surprised by how much I ended up enjoying this book. I accepted her request to review the book because it sounded interesting, and it ended up being interesting. 

The book follows Anastasia who was a bit of a trouble maker, but she’s moved to Cedar Falls with her grandparents to try and get a fresh start. Everything doesn’t really go as smoothly as she expected, naturally. She then meets Frost, which is a very unusual name especially for a boy, but I liked him instantly. He was a bit of a mysterious character, but I figured him out quickly. I knew who he was pretty early on, but I tend to be good with that kind of stuff.

The book wasn’t the best written book, but it did flow nicely. The plot was strong and consistent, and it did keep my attention throughout.

This is a werewolf story, so if you’re not into that then I wouldn’t recommend it. Also, the love story was little bit cheesy, but the good kind of cheesy.  I think when it comes to romance in books a little bit of cheesiness is good.

Although I really enjoyed the book, I have to say that I don’t think it should be a series, this could easily have been a stand alone. The plot was perfectly resolved by the end of the book, then she throws something else in there, and I don’t think that twist alone is enough to continue a series. There should be a lot more conflict then that. I’ll probably read the sequel at some point in time just to see what she does, but I don’t think sequels were necessary.

My final thoughts are that I really enjoyed the book, and besides the fact that I think she can improve with her writing ( which she probably will, just like Tahereh Mafi did with the Shatter Me series) the book was  a good one. I’d recommend it if you want a quick paranormal romance read. If you think you might enjoy this, then definitely give it a try!

Rating: 

wpid-2015-01-04-16-46-08.jpg

If you have read this book, let me know your thought!

Xx,

signature1pink

3 thoughts on “Frostbitten by Heather Beck | Review

Leave a Reply

