All I Need by Susane Colasanti | Review

Title: All I Need 

 Author: Susane Colasanti

 Genre: YA, Contemporary

 Page Count: 240

 Publication: May 21st. 2013 

 Publisher: Viking Juvenile 

 Format: First, American Hardcover

 Source: Purchased 

Summary:

The last night of summer is only the beginning.

Skye wants to meet the boy who will change her life forever. Seth feels their instant connection the second he sees her. When Seth starts talking to Skye at the last beach party of the summer, it’s obvious to both of them that this is something real. But when Seth leaves for college before they exchange contact info, Skye wonders if he felt the same way she did—and if she will ever see him again. Even if they find their way back to each other, can they make a long-distance relationship work despite trust issues, ex drama, and some serious background differences?

Teen favorite Susane Colasanti returns to the alternating-voice style of her beloved debut When It Happens in this Serendipity-inspired story about summer, soul mates, and the moments that change our lives forever.

okay, so here’s the thing, I’ve loved every single book that shes written and that I’ve read, which is all of them except for one, and this one, I didn’t like as much. She writes such cute and adorable contemporary stories that I usually adore, but this one felt different. It was still a cute contemporary, but it didn’t meet the expectations I have come to have for her books. The dialogue felt weird and fake, the whole setting was just wrong, we would be in November and then it’d just jump straight to January with no mention of what happened during that time. The book is just a little over 200 pages long, but more then a year passed in that time, which is perfectly fine, but only when it’s spaced out properly, and I didn’t feel like it was. Skye and Seth first met at the end of  the summer, she was going into her junior year of high school and he was going into I believe his freshman year of college, but since they met so close to the end of the summer they didn’t have much time to spend together and they didn’t get to exchange contact information, so they spent the whole school year with no way of contacting each other but trying to find each other, and we read from both of their point of views, and that concept does sound pretty cute. At one point in the story, that following summer they do meet again and this time change contact information. We follow their relationship with her being a senior and him a sophomore. Seth has issues of his own regarding his college majors, and at one point an amazing opportunity comes up for him and Skye becomes this annoying selfish girlfriend that gets upset because he didn’t ask for her opinion and she’s whiny about it, and that really ticked me off. Honestly, if I’d been Seth I would’ve broken up with her so many times, but oh well. I loved her best friends though, it reminded me of me and my best friends, we’re a trio just like they were, and that was a nice little part of the story. I think I’m most similar to Jocelyn, but she’s a fashion major and the other best friend is a film major, which are pretty much the two majors I’m debating upon so I liked that aspect of their lives.

Overall, I did like this book, it was a cute story, but it is my least favorite of them all. If you haven’t read any of her books yet, then I wouldn’t recommend starting with this one, as it doesn’t show her full potential. My favorites from her are: Something Like Fate, Keep Holding On, So Much Closer; all of these are amazing and moving, especially Keep Holding On. 

PS: I wrote this review while listening to the Grease soundtrack and that’s my favorite movie, just felt like throwing that in there (: 

Rating: 

wpid-2015-01-04-16-46-42.jpg


Leave a Reply

