The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson | Review

Title: The Kiss of Deception

Author: Mary E. Pearson

Series: The Remnant Chronicles #1

Genre: YA, Fantasy

Page Count: 486

Publication: July 8, 2014

Publisher: Henry Holt (Macmillan)

Format: First, American Hardcover

Source: Owned 


A princess must find her place in a reborn world.

She flees on her wedding day.

She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.

She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.

She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.

The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.

Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.


Well, this book has a lot of hype surrounding it. I had really high expectations which is probably why I didn’t love it at first . I got this book back in September, started reading it then, stopped because I wasn’t really feeling it, then picked it back up a few days ago. The story has a lot of potential, the ending was amazing, and it (the second half) was fast paced, but nothing exciting happened during the first 200 pages, and that was an issue. The book starts off with the princess running, so you’d think it’d continue in that suspenseful action setting, but no. We then get to read from the assassin’s perspective, and from the prince’s, and I have to say I loved the prince instantly. We then meet Kaden and Rafe, the two male leads, one of them is the prince, and the other the assassin, and that’s something we have to figure out. I have to be honest and say that I guessed wrong, but I have my reasons, I’ll go into it in the spoilers, but subconsciously I knew I was probably wrong, but I was stubborn and decided that my original choice had to be right, even though I was starting to figure out, it was not. Here’s the thing, those first 200 – 300 pages were all about Lia’s new life and about her falling in love with one of the boys (yes, there is a love triangle) and that was fine at first, but then it got to the point where I just wanted something, anything to happen. This is supposed to be the story of a princess who escapes on her wedding day, and there’s supposed to be an assassin after her, I wanted some action. I kept reading though, because I certainly wasn’t that bored, and when the action finally started happening, with the form of an attack on her, I was hooked. That was the turning point of the story for me. After that it was amazing. If the start had been as good as the end, then this book would’ve been 5 stars, but alas, I have to be fair. I have very high expectations for the sequel now, because it seems like it’ll pick up right on the action considering how this one ended. I’ve seen the arcs floating around, and I wish I’d requested one because I know it’s probably late for me to request one now, but I didn’t know whether or not I was going to like it, so that wouldn’t have been wise.

The love triangle in this book, isn’t up to level with Will/Jem/Tessa but I think it’s better than Aspen/America/Maxon, but it doesn’t seem like it’ll be too hard of a love triangle because she seems to have already picked one, even though she does still care about the other. As for me, I’ve been Team Prince since the start, but I was rooting for the assassin unknowingly lol, if you’ve read the book, then you get it. I love them both, I do, and since I’d set my mind that the actual assassin was the prince, I didn’t pay attention to the actual prince, because I thought he was the assassin, but now that I know better, I’m team prince, but the assassin is still in the running (:

Lia was pretty badass for a princess, and I liked that. She was a strong lead, I don’t think she made it to Katniss and Rose status, but she’s super close, more like a Sydney Sage.

Anyways, I did really enjoy this book overall, and I would recommend it to anyone who likes fantasy and books with a more royal kindgoms setting.

Rating:

4sbrating.jpg Amazon | B & N | Book Depository


SPOILERS


Okay, so lets talk about Kaden and Rafe. I was so sure that Rafe was the assassin. The very first thing apart from their looks that made me think he was the assassin was his name, I knew Rafe was not the name of a prince; Kaden on the other hand, does sound like royalty, and I was right on that point because his name isn’t Rafe, it’s Jaxon. That little fact alone could’ve helped a whole lot. Also their looks, Rafe was described with long unkempt dark hair, while Kaden had blond hair and brown eyes, that little fact reminded me of Maxon from the selection, and he’s a prince, so that was a deciding factor. The reason why I started to figure out I was probably wrong was because she was trying to make me believe I was right. Kaden seemed like the loving, royal one, while Rafe not as much.

When Lia was attacked and Kaden had a bow, I mean what kind of assassin fires a bow? That seems like something a prince would know how to do. Also, Rafe’s eagerness with the body? That seemed like something an assassin would do. Then there was the fight between Rafe and Kaden, Rafe took his shirt off, and that’s not a very royal thing to do, and Kaden”s fighting skills just seemed a lot more royal. Anyways, I’m not upset that I was wrong, but color me surprised when Kaden came out and announced he was the assassin, I honestly thought it was like a joke, that he’s figured out Rafe was the assassin and he’s somehow fooled the others. It wasn’t until Rafe;s chapter with Sven when he was waiting for Lia to show up that I let my stubborn mind accept defeat lol.

Let’s talk about Walther. I knew he was going to die, from that first scene with Lia in the woods, I don’t know, I just knew, he seemed so happy and confident over the fact that he was going.  to be a dad, that I knew he wasn’t. I didn’t know Greta would die though. When he actually died, that scene broke my heart. Seeing her dig his grave though, that was heartbreaking, but it really made me respect her even more. I love the fact that Kaden decided to hlp her in any way he could. He couldn’t exactly help her bury them, but he found a loophole around that, and that was nice. I’m really starting to like the other assassins, except for Malich of course.

Also, Lia’s powers what exactly are they. I know she’s important, I mean the songs were about her, but I’m not exactly sure as to what that means yet. I think the Scholar knew about it though, and that’s why he didn’t want her to have it. Although, I don’t know if her mother knew, or why she tried to suppress her powers, but I don’t think she’s evil.

My favorite line in that entire book, was after she found out that the assassins were the ones who killed Greta, and when Kaden came after her she told him: “I may be your prisoner, but I am not your whore” That just showed some sass, and even though I felt bad for K, I was clapping for her.

Then that end! When Rafe got himself captured, I mean honestly, of all the plans I thought he’d come up with, that wasn’t it. I loved the he told her who he was though. Isn’t it ironic, how the guy she actually fell in love with, was the one she was supposed to marry. If she’d just gotten married then none of this would’ve happened and she still would’ve gotten to be with someone who loved her.

Anyways, those were my thoughts, share yours ♥

Xx,

signature1pink

2 thoughts on “The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson | Review

  1. Fiona says:

    I had the same issue initially. I thought the first 200 pages or so were rather uninspiring, and I honestly don’t know what kept me going. BUT, that last half! That twist alone brought it up to 4 stars for me, because by the time the revealed I was reading too quickly to even realize that there WAS a twist. Overall, I think it was a good first book to a series and looking back, I think it was so slow because Pearson was building the world. Can’t wait for the second one, because — I’m with you — I think it’ll pick up with action and just run with it! (Excellent review, by the way!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

