ARC Review | Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver

 Title: Vanishing Girls 

Author: Lauren Oliver

Series: N/A

Genre: YA, Mystery 

Page Count: 357

Publication: March 10, 2015

Publisher: Harper Teen

Format: Print ARC 

Source:  Giveaway 

Synopsis:

New York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver delivers a gripping story about two sisters inexorably altered by a terrible accident.

Dara and Nick used to be inseparable, but that was before the accident that left Dara’s beautiful face scarred and the two sisters totally estranged. When Dara vanishes on her birthday, Nick thinks Dara is just playing around. But another girl, nine-year-old Madeline Snow, has vanished, too, and Nick becomes increasingly convinced that the two disappearances are linked. Now Nick has to find her sister, before it’s too late.

In this edgy and compelling novel, Lauren Oliver creates a world of intrigue, loss, and suspicion as two sisters search to find themselves, and each other.


Prior to reading this book, I had never read a Lauren Oliver book, and based on this one, I’m certainly looking forward to reading all her other books. I went into this book with hardly any expectations, and it completely blew me away. I didn’t foresee the ending, at all, and it was a nice, unexpected, wonderfully done ending.

“Perfect for readers who devoured We Were Liars, it’s the sort of novel that readers will race to finish, then return to the beginning to marvel at how it was constructed-and at everything they missed. —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

This review sums up exactly how I feel, after finishing it I just wanted to go back and read it over again with a new perspective. After finishing the book I thought back to all the little things and it ended up making perfect sense. The way she wrote the book, I don’t know how she pulled it off, but she did. It’s told in dual point of views, Nick and Dara’s, it’s also told in Before and After, so past and present, from before the accident, and from after; there are also a couple diary entries, as well as news blog posts. It sounds like it’d be confusing, but it’s really not, it all fits into the flow of the story nicely. Not many authors could pull that off as flawlessly as she did.
The publisher’s Weekly review says that if you loved We Were Liars (which I did) then you’ll love this too, but don’t think that if you didn’t then you won’t like this one, because I’m pretty sure all the things you didn’t like about We Were Liars aren’t in this book, and all the things you loved, are in it.
It’s such a compelling story of two sisters. All the love, the hate, the heartbreak, everything you could imagine would be between such a relationship is in this book. I’ve always wished I had a sister who was around my age, so I loved reading their story, seeing how close they were before the accident. Seeing what pulled them apart, what brought them back together. Seeing how much one affected the other. Nick and Dara are nothing alike, but yet so similar.
It kind of left us with an open ending, but I think it was a perfect ending. Once you finish it, you will be blown away. Once you start to think back to everything that happened , you’ll probably get confused but it’ll slowly all start making perfect sense, she thought of everything, there was so much room to mess up in this book, but she didn’t, not even one mishap. There are places where names should’ve been said, but they weren’t, all because of the way she wanted to end it. It’s definitely going to be on my favorites of the year list, and I’m looking forward to all her future and past works.
I usually include a spoiler section into my reviews, but with this one, even though there are many things I could talk about, I decided not to, because it’s not something I’d want to risk anyone getting spoiled on. If you have read this book and would like to discuss it with spoilers, feel free to comment (with a warning) or tweet me @wordssweheart, and we could DM.
Rating: 

wpid-2015-01-04-16-55-14.jpg

favoritesrating.jpg


Xx,

wpid-1405129367174-1.jpg

7 thoughts on “ARC Review | Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver

  1. pandaduh says:

    I’m skeptical of anything Lauren Oliver writes, because of her company Paper Lantern Lit. She may not have really written this, only slapped her name on it. It’s very dishonest and I don’t trust anything like Full Fathom Five.

    Like

Leave a Reply

