The Ruby Circle by Richelle Mead | Review

Title: The Ruby Circle

Author: Richelle Mead

Series: Bloodlines #6

Genre: YA, Paranormal

Page Count: 348

Publication: February 10, 2015

Publisher: Penguin

Format: E-Book

Source: Purchased 

The epic conclusion to Richelle Mead’s New York Times bestselling Bloodlines series is finally here…

Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets—and human lives.

After their secret romance is exposed, Sydney and Adrian find themselves facing the wrath of both the Alchemists and the Moroi in this electrifying conclusion to Richelle Mead’s New York Times bestselling Bloodlines series. When the life of someone they both love is put on the line, Sydney risks everything to hunt down a deadly former nemesis. Meanwhile, Adrian becomes enmeshed in a puzzle that could hold the key to a shocking secret about spirit magic, a secret that could shake the entire Moroi world.


I didn’t read this when it first came out because I knew it was the last one and I wasn’t ready to say goodbye to Adrian just yet, although Richelle did say that we’ll see them again in the future. I have to say that even though I loved this book, it was really predictable, not in a bad way really, but I saw everything coming, was it just me? I wasn’t planning on reading it when I did, because I didn’t have a physical copy yet and I was planning on reading it until I got that, but I saw the e-book on sale for $2.99, and I really didn’t want to get it because I knew I was getting the physical copy anyways, but I ended up buying it….

I can’t even begin to form my thoughts about this book, I cried a lot while reading it, especially because of Sydrian, they’re literally goals. Everyone deserves their Adrian Ivashkov, and he’s literally my perfect guy, I’m so serious, just my type. He’s an artist, and he likes to cook, and he’s so caring and sensitive and romantic and sweet, he’s literally the perfect guy for me. If you’re not on Adrian Ivashkov’s level, then you’re not on my level. He’s my favorite male lead of all time, and I’d gladly take Sydney’s spot in an instant.

Anyways, back to the book, if you have not read the Vampire Acadmey series and you’ve read this book, then you missed out on the real experience, especially that epilogue, you won’t take as much out of it as you would if you’d read VA. Honestly, there’s not much I can say about this book without spoiling it’s prequel, so if you haven’t read Silver Shadows yet, then get on that. I think The Fiery Heart still keeps it’s spot as my favorite in the series, but Silver Shadows isn’t far behind, and neither is this one honestly. I think it was a really strong finale and I loved every second of it, and OMG there’s one thing I didn’t see coming at all, and it’s regarding cousins, that’s all I’m gonna say.

Okay so if you haven’t read up to Silver Shadows yet then I’d suggest you stop reading now, Ruby Circle was a 5/5 for me. Bye xx

So at the end of Silver Shadows, Jill get’s kidnapped, and I was actually pretty surprised when we found out who kidnapped her. A lot of people come back in this book, a lot of them I didn’t remember the back story to, for example I kept getting Neil and Trey confused with each other, same with Angeline and Olive. The Sydrian scenes were so heartwarming, and even when they fought it was so sweet seeing their love. There’s one thing that she included in the story that I didn’t really appreciate because I felt like she was just trying to fix something that didn’t need fixing, I’ll go more into it in the spoilers. Anyways, like I said I thought this was a good ending to the series.

One more thing, I think that she wrote both Silver Shadows and Ruby Circle in one and just split them into two books. This book did feel a bit short, but it didn’t bother me too much.  I don’t think it was rushed really, it was a bit predictable with the whole rescue mission aspect of it, but there were still some things I didn’t see coming.

Okay so that’s all I’m going to say without spoiling!

Rating:

5cam


Can I just say I loved married Adrian and Sydney, they were adorable. The fact that he celebrated their one month, was so cute. As for who actually took Jill, did anyone see it as Alicia? I didn’t even remember her. The Warriors of Light making a comeback I also didn’t see coming.

Let me just mention Zoe! I loved that she realized what was going on. I always knew that she would, everyone hated her when she handed Syd over in The Fiery Heart, but I always knew that she really thought she was doing the right thing, and she had no idea that they would do what they did. I loved that she came out of the brainwashing.

Olive being pregnant I didn’t see coming, and the fact that now Rose and Dimitri can have kids really annoyed me. Over time I’ve forgiven Rose for what she did to Adrian in The Last Sacrifice, I think Adrian found his true love, and I do like Dimitri and Rose together, but I felt like them not being able to have children was the price they had to pay. I know it might sound cruel and now I’m happy for them , but I felt like that was a little unnecessary to the story.  She tried too hard to resolve everyone’s story; this isn’t a fairy tale.

I loved that Declan will be raised by Adrian and Sydney, I knew that was going to happen even before Neil wrote that letter. It’s really sad that Neil can’t raise his son, and that Olive had to die, and I hope Adrian and Sydney will tell Declan about his parents and how special he truly is. I think it’ll be so heartbreaking for Neil when Declan calls Adrian dad instead of him. That’s just heartbreaking to think about.

 Adrian and Dimitri are cousins! That was something I never saw coming. I had an Unravel Me moment, honestly. I was so shocked, but I liked that she included that in the story, now they’re all family.

I loved the epilogue! Rose and Dimitri are engaged, which was nice to see. I hoped we’d see Christian and Lissa engaged too, I hoped we’d see more of Christian actually, I’ve missed little Ozera. That epilogue made me cry, seeing Sydrian as parents and Adrian as a responsible dad and husband, and him cooking, it was so nice to see his character development, from Frostbite to now.

I loved this series, it was bittersweet saying goodbye, but Richelle says she’s probably not done writing in this world, so we’ll probably see more of them.

2 thoughts on “The Ruby Circle by Richelle Mead | Review

  1. SERIESous Book Reviews says:

    SPOILERS
    I completely agree with you on this review! Especially the whole Rose and Dimitri kids thing–a little too “fairy tale” for me. I felt like it was added to appease fans of that couple so that their story was “complete”. While I love Rose and Dimitri, I liked that they didn’t need to have kids in order to be happy with their lives and by giving them the ability to just felt like a cop out to me. Loved everything else in this book though!
    But, I cried like a baby reading this one–I can’t believe it is over! Adrian has been my favourite character since Frostbite so that epilogue was amazing–though I did miss not having Christian around 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. breathefiction says:

    This reminds me that I really should get around to finishing the Vampire Academy series. I liked the first couple of books but for some reason I forgot all about it and I didn’t want to get into Bloodlines until I finished VA. Thanks for the reminder. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

