ARC Review | None of the Above by I. W. Gregorio

None of the Above Title: None of the Above   Author: I. W. Gregorio  Series: N/A   Genre: YA, Contemporary  Publication: April 7, 2015   Publisher: Harper Teen   Format: Physical ARC                 Source: Sent to me by the publisher for an honest review. 

A groundbreaking story about a teenage girl who discovers she was born intersex . . . and what happens when her secret is revealed to the entire school. Incredibly compelling and sensitively told, None of the Above is a thought-provoking novel that explores what it means to be a boy, a girl, or something in between. What if everything you knew about yourself changed in an instant? When Kristin Lattimer is voted homecoming queen, it seems like another piece of her ideal life has fallen into place. She’s a champion hurdler with a full scholarship to college and she’s madly in love with her boyfriend. In fact, she’s decided that she’s ready to take things to the next level with him. But Kristin’s first time isn’t the perfect moment she’s planned–something is very wrong. A visit to the doctor reveals the truth: Kristin is intersex, which means that though she outwardly looks like a girl, she has male chromosomes, not to mention boy “parts.” Dealing with her body is difficult enough, but when her diagnosis is leaked to the whole school, Kristin’s entire identity is thrown into question. As her world unravels, can she come to terms with her new self?


When I first read the synopsis of this book, I was a bit confused because I’d never heard the term intersex before, as a matter of fact, I had no idea what it was. Reading this book has introduced me to this condition I had no idea existed. I know of the transgender community and have gotten an understanding of that, but the intersex aren’t transgender, they’re females who are born with a Y chromosome, while outwardly they look like a girl, they might have some boy organs inside. The book explains it all, so all you have to do is read.

Kristin is pretty much an average 18 year old high school senior. She’s a track star, she’s dating the star QB, so when she decides to take the next step with him, she’s surprised to find out that it’s ridiculously painful. She goes to the doctor who diagnoses her with AIS. Anyways, the book really is about Kristin’s journey after discovering what she has, and the effect it has on her life, friendships and relationships. People reacted the same way you’d expect them to react when they’re faced with something they don’t understand. This is furthermore shown through a certain character at a nighclub (if you read the book, you’ll get what I’m referring to). I couldn’t believe how cruel people could be, especially those you thought would love you no matter what. Honestly, I didn’t really understand why people reacted this way, it’s a genetic disorder, there’s nothing she can do about it, and it’s not like she’s a man, she’s a girl who just happens to have some boy organs and no uterus. I think that if any of them had actually taken time to do some research about the whole thing, they would’ve realized that.

I’d definitely recommend you to read this book, because you’ll finish it feeling smarter and more aware about a serious topic. I read this in a day, and that doesn’t happen very often anymore. I loved the ending, it was an open, hopeful one and I hope  that everyone who finds themselves in a similar situation gets that same ending.

Rating:

stars5sig.jpg

5 thoughts on “ARC Review | None of the Above by I. W. Gregorio

  1. nevillegirl says:

    Eeeee, I’m glad you liked this book! It looks like a really good read. 🙂

    You seem to have some misconceptions about intersexuality, though – I hope you won’t mind if I clear things up a bit? I don’t want this to come across as rude or nitpicky or anything, you just seemed interested in learning more about this.

    1) They’re not male or female; they’re intersex. It’s a third sex, basically. Now, GENDER is different – Kristin is intersex but gender-wise, she’s a girl. (Basically gender is what’s in your head and sex is what your body is.)

    2) Intersexual individuals don’t always “look like girls, but with some boy parts.” Some look like boys, but with some girl parts! I believe there are about 30 different “conditions” intersexuality can manifest as – sometimes the “parts” will be exactly half and half, but people can have, say, 75% male parts and 25% female parts. Kristin’s situation is just one of many. 🙂

    Hope that helped explain things! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ωσя∂ѕωєнєαят says:

      Totally! Thanks (: Yeah I was wondering if the situation could’ve been reversed, but throughout the book she only mentions how there are “intersex women”, or at least that’s what most of them call themselves. There are a bunch of support groups but they all only have girls in them. She never mentioned there being boys with girl parts, so I just assumed there weren’t. Thanks for clearing that up though. It’s definitely a topic that I’ll have to do a lot of research on.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. SarahClare says:

    I’m really looking forward to reading this book. I keeping seeing good things about it on the blogosphere.

    I enjoyed reading your thoughts on it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

