What To Include in Your Request Email – Indie Authors | Blogging 101

( I was already half way through this post, and my computer shut down because the battery died without it being saved, so now I have to start all over again…)

This post is going to be directed towards Indie Authors. Over the past couple of months, I’ve gotten many emails from authors requesting a review, and a lot of those emails have been great, but others not so much.

I’m going to show examples of some emails (I’ll remove names and titles, but if the blurb sounds like something you’d like then I’ll gladly tell you the title of the book so you can go check it out). I’ll give some tips.

I obviously can’t speak for everyone but I know that personally, and probably the majority of us, I like to see that you’ve read my review policy. My policy is pretty straigh forward, I even have a list of the things I’d like you to include. For example, I clearly state in my policy that it is important for the cover of the book to be included, but however, some still don’t.

ia-ja2

This for example is an email I got from an Indie Author, and I love the format, it shows that they followed my policy. I accepted the request, the book was sent to me (personally signed which is always a plus). I loved the synopsis of the book and the cover so I said yes.

Once I got an email from an author and all it said was “I’d like you to review my book” and they included a link to an amazon page…..I did go on the link and read what the book was about, but already the email didn’t raise my interest.

All I want to say to you Indies out there, is that I know you work twice as hard as regularly published authors because not only do you have to write the book, you also have to promote it. If you’re sending off an email promoting your book to a potential; reviewer, the least you could do is learn their name (it’s usually on their About Page) and read their policy if they have one.

I  don’t accept a lot of requests mainly because I don’t have a lot of time to read them, but what I’m going to try to do is recommend other bloggers who might be interested in the topic whenever possible.

That’s all for this post, if you have any questions or topics you’d like me to cover, feel free to leave them below.

Xx, 

Ashley 

PS: I started reading Paper Towns today, and I’m really loving it so far (: x 

9 thoughts on “What To Include in Your Request Email – Indie Authors | Blogging 101

  1. Safah @ Midnight Pageturners says:

    I can totally relate to this! The amount of times I’ve gotten requests from Indie authors who misspell my name and send me the generic “I love your blog” line that sounds like it’s been copy and pasted a dozen times is unreal, while I love indie authors and appreciate their efforts I think some need to take a little more care with how they make queries, otherwise it comes across as a little spam-ish..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Emily @ Forever Literary says:

    I agree with this so much! I’ve gotten way too many review request for genres I never blog about (like picture books for toddlers), proving that the requester hasn’t even looked at my blog, let alone my review policy. Honestly, I don’t even mind if the author straight up says “I’m sorry if you don’t review e-books [or whatever genre or format is being promoted]. I’m sending this email out as a mass email to multiple bloggers to save me tons of time.” Because at least then they’re being honest. But don’t try to tell me “I love your blog!” when you’ve clearly spent two seconds on it.

    If you haven’t heard about this blog, I highly recommend checking out inboxinsanity.tumblr.com. It features the most hilarious failed review requests ever.

    P.S. Paper Towns is AMAZING – it’s probably my favorite John Green. I hope you love the rest of it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

