ARC Review | Velvet by Temple West

Title: Velvet

Author: Temple West

Series: Velvet #1

Genre: YA, Paranormal, Romance

Page Count: 416

Publication: May 12, 2015

Publisher: Swoon Reads (Macmillan)

Format: Physical ARC

Source:  Sent to me by the publisher for an honest review.

First rule of dealing with hot vampire bodyguards? Don’t fall in love.

After losing both her parents before age seventeen, aspiring designer Caitlin Holte feels like her whole world has been turned upside down, and that was before the terrifying encounter with a supernatural force. Then, she learns that her hot bad-boy neighbor, Adrian—who might have just saved her life—is actually a half-demon vampire.

Suddenly Caitlin is stuck with a vampire bodyguard who feels that the best way to protect her is to become her pretend boyfriend. Trouble is, Caitlin is starting to fall in love for real, while Adrian can never love a human. Caitlin trusts Adrian to keep her safe from his demon father, but will he be able to protect her heart?


 So, I loved this book. Completely loved it. It’s been a while since I’ve read a good paranormal book, and I’d forgotten how much I loved the genre. I haven’t even been reading much lately or blogging for that matter, and this book is pretty big, but I wanted to get it reviewed around the release, since I did request it, and I was pretty excited about it. It’s a pretty big book, so I thought it’d probably take me forever, but it didn’t, only a day, I was hooked. I’m so excited for the sequel, this series is going to be amazing.

Okay, so the story follows Caitlin, 17 year old high school junior who was just orphaned by the lost of her mother to cancer. She’s from New York, but she has to move to, I can’t remember where exactly, but it was somewhere rural. She had to move in with her aunt and uncle, and her cousin whom she never met, naturally she hold a lot of anger, and she’s not happy to be there. Then comes Adrian, the boy next door, who also happens to be a vampire. Let me just start of by saying that I loved Adrian. I mean based on his name, of course I’d love him. He did remind me a bit of the lovely Lord Ivashkov, but to me he was really a mix between Damon Salvatore and Simon Lewis. His chemistry with Caitlin was so nice, they were so funny together. That’s another thing thing, this book was hilarious. There’s the forbidden love in it, obviously, Vampires and Humans is always a no-no in everything. It’d be interesting to read a book where Vampire/Human relationships were cheered on. The thing is they knew they weren’t supposed to fall in love and they tried really hard not to, but when you’re dating someone great, it’s bound to happen, even if it all started as just pretend. I loved that Adrian was a little nerd, which is another thing that made him remind me of Simon. I think they’re literally goals. Adrian De La Mara has joined the list of awesome Adrian’s lol, but no one will surpass the original. Oh and little Lucian, I loved him, he was so adorable. He’s definitely an important character that I think and hope will go through a major character development by the end of the series.

She opened up a lot of questions towards the end of the book, like the Council’s true motives? Caitlin might be a lot more special then she thinks (which I have some theories about that). I loved that the Council doesn’t seem trustworthy, because that adds a little something extra to the story, it’s always nice when the governing party that has been here from the start is now corrupted. I’m excited for the sequels.

Guys, this came out yesterday, so it’s available everywhere. Trust me, if you like Paranormal, then you’ll like this. If you liked Vampire Academy, The Mortal Instruments, The Vampire Diaries, The Originals..anything like those, you’ll love this.

Have any of you read it yet? Or are planning to? Let me know!

Thanks again to Swoon Reads / Macmillan for sending this to me for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
8 thoughts on “ARC Review | Velvet by Temple West

Leave a Reply

