YOLO Juliet by Brett Wright • William Shakespeare | Review

Front Cover Title: YOLO Juliet 

 Author: Brett Wright • William Shakespeare

 Series: OMG Shakespeare 

 Genre: Play, Romance 

 Page Count: 112 

 Publication: May 26, 2015

 Publisher: Random House 

Format: Hardcover

Source: Sent to me by the the publisher for an honest review

Romeo and Juliet, one of the greatest love stories ever told . . . in texts?!
 
Imagine: What if those star-crossed lovers Romeo and Juliet had smartphones? A classic is reborn in this fun and funny adaptation of one of Shakespeare’s most famous plays!
 
Two families at war.
A boy and a girl in love.
A secret marriage gone oh-so-wrong.
 
and h8. The classics just got a whole lot more interesting. 😉
 
 
tl;dr A Shakespeare play told through its characters texting with emojis, checking in at certain locations, and updating their relationship statuses. The perfect gift for hip theater lovers and teens.


I read Romeo and Juliet 3 years ago back in my freshman year and it was the first Shakespeare play I’d read, now I’ve read 2 more, Othello and Macbeth. I think Macbeth is my favorite one, and Othello is definitely my least favorite, I think that’s the worst book I’ve ever read, but that’s not what this is about.

I don’t really like Shakespeare, personally I think he’s overhyped, and I don’t see why we have to be forced to read one of his works every year. I’d rather read Emily or Charlotte Bronte, Charles Dickens, people who’ve works I think would be more educational. Shakespeare’s work is all the same to me, you already know how the story ends before you start it, and there isn’t any valuable lessons in them.

Romeo and Juliet I actually liked a bit. It wasn’t the saddest story of all time though, not even close. That’s one thing that bothered me with it, at the end of the play Shakespeare  says ” for never was a story of more woe, then this of Juliet and her Romeo” I still remember this line, because it really annoyed me. He’s saying that his story was the saddest story of all time, which it’s not. If anything, I think Romeo and Juliet was a funny story because of how ridiculous the whole thing was.

I liked Yolo Juliet because I think it pointed out the whole ridiculousness of the original story. I think it’d be beneficial if those were read in schools too, I mean I know it would never be used as a replacement, and I don’t think it should be either, but I think it’ll help the students, especially those who had a hard time understanding the writing since it’s in old english, I think it’d help them. It’s a quick read, they’re all text messages.

I was also sent Srsly Hamlet for review, but I didn’t read that one because I’m going to read the actual play in class next year and besides knowing that everyone dies, I’d rather not spoil myself any further, but I think it’s probably just as funny as Yolo Jujliet was.

There’s also one for Macbeth and a Midsummer Night’s Dream, so I might check the Macbeth one out since I just read the play.

Anyways, I really enjoyed the book. If you loved Romeo or Juliet, or even if you didn’t like it, or thought it was ridiculous but enjoyable like me, then you should check it out. There are references to Tinder and Taylor Swift in there, trust me guys, it’s really funny.

Rating: 

stars5sig.jpg

Xx,

Ashley

One thought on “YOLO Juliet by Brett Wright • William Shakespeare | Review

Leave a Reply

