ARC Review | The Rise and Fall of a Theater Geek by Seth Rudetsky

 16069019 Title: The Rise and Fall of a Theater Geek  

Author: Seth Rudetsky 

Series: N/A 

Genre: YA, LGBT, comedy-broadway type of thing

Page Count:276

Publication: June 23, 2015 

Publisher: Random House 

Format: Bound Manuscript

Source: Sent to me by the publisher for an honest review. 

Broadway, New York.

The shows, the neon lights . . . the cute chorus boys! It’s where Justin has always wanted to be–and now, with a winter internship for a famous actor, he finally has his chance to shine. If only he could ditch his kind, virtuous, upright, and–dare he say it?—uptight boyfriend, Spencer. But once the internship begins, Justin has more to worry about than a cramped single-guy-in-the-city style. Instead of having his moment in the spotlight, he’s a not-so-glorified errand boy. Plus, Spencer is hanging out with a celebra-hottie, Justin’s best friend Becky isn’t speaking to him, and his famous actor boss seems headed for flopdom. Justin’s tap-dancing as fast as he can, but all his wit and sass might not be enough to switch his time in New York from nightmare-terrible to dream-come-true terrific.

Seth Rudetsky’s second YA novel is endearingly human, laugh-out-loud funny, and for any kid who’s ever aspired to Broadway but can only sneak in through the stage door.


Here’s the thing, this book sounded like it would be something I would really enjoy, and it was fine for the first few pages but it kind of got annoying after a while. Justin, he was just an annoying protagonist. I didn’t like how he just let Hubert play him over and over again without telling Chase, I didn’t like how he kept obsessing over Spencer, he was just annoying overall. I also thought this book was written with too many exclamation points, it was like every other sentence, and it was annoying, because it wasn’t all that exciting.

After I couldn’t take it anymore I read the last couple of pages to see what happened, and I guess all seemed fine, but the book sadly just didn’t catch my interest. It’s dissappointing because Tina Fey burbled it saying: “I feel cheated that we didn’t have this book when I was young.” and so I thought wow this must be great, but sadly it wasn’t for me. It’s targeted towards fans of Glee (which I am) and I love Broadway and acting, but I guess the book  lost sight of that with the other dramas that were going on.  I din’t like the characters, the writing style, nothing really. I loved the setting, because of course, my favorite city, but besides that, that was all. I didn’t even like Justin’s grandma, and she’s a grandma.

Shame that I didn’t enjoy it, but if it sounds like something you might then feel free to try it and let me know your thoughts, it just wasn’t my cup of tea.


RATING

cam-1


XX

3 thoughts on “ARC Review | The Rise and Fall of a Theater Geek by Seth Rudetsky

Leave a Reply

