Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas | Review

title: crown of midnight

author: sarah j. maas

series: throne of glass #2

page count:418

publication: august, 27, 2015

publisher: bloomsbury

format: e-book

source: owned

 “A line that should never be crossed is about to be breached.

It puts this entire castle in jeopardy—and the life of your friend.”

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.


This book was just as good as the first, I think I preferred it to Throne of Glass, but I also didn’t appreciate the lack of Dorian moments in this book. I mean he was there, and we heard from him because he was going through his own dilemma, but we had an abundance of Chaol and Celeana time, and I got frustrated quick, but we’ll get more into that later on. If you haven’t read Throne of Glass yet, then you should, and if you have and haven gotten to Crown of Midnight yet, then you should. That’s all I can really say guys, just this series is getting better and better. I’m currently reading The Assassin’s Blade before Heir of Fire and it’s great too so far. Sam is amazing, and fierce just like her. Here’s my review for Throne of Glass.

So yeah, from now on this will contain spoilers, and not mild ones, so beware.

OKayyy, so we find out so much in this book, it’s ridiculous.You know I had a feeling Celeana wasn’t actually killing the people the king sent her to kill, I didn’t doubt her for a second.

 First I want to talk about the romance between Chaol and Celeana, you know I’m glad it happened, so she can get it out of the way lol, but I’m still team Dorian 100%. I really don’t get why people ship her so much with Chaol, I mean he’s fine, but I still can’t see him as a love interest. I still see him as more of a protector, even after all of this, I still don’t see it. I’m sorry, but I can’t. Dorian is so noble, like when they were on the horses and he realized what was happening, even though he was hurting all he said was “Treat her well”, like my poor prince.

Then there was Nehemia dying, I didn’t see that one coming, after the speech she had with Queen Elena, I really thought they were going to like kill Chaol or something, but to find out that she had died and all the pieces came to place, I couldn’t believe it. When Celeana almost killed Chaol, I had to be honest, I wouldn’t of had minded him dying there, I mean really it was like kill him, don’t kill him, oh well. I was just as pissed at Chaol as Celeana was, I can’t believe he didn’t tell her or Nehemia…. Dorian would’ve done something. Remember in book 1 when the King and the Duke wanted to hold Nehemia captive, even though Dorian knew he couldn’t tell her, he still fought hard and stood up to his father about how horrible of an idea this was, so without her knowing it, he had saved her, but Chaol noooo, just kept quiet about everything; I mean, even if he didn’t tell Celeana or Nehemia, the least he could’ve done was watch over her himself, I mean he could’ve done something……

So, Dorian has magic, and Celeana is actually Fae, and she’s Aelin, the rightful heir to the Terrasen Throne, omg this turn of events was an unexpected one, but a welcome one. Dorian and her are meant to be, I mean they can relate on so much more now. I loved the scene underneath the library when Dorian was there with her as they fought the creature, it was nice seeing them working together like that. It was nice seeing Dorian trust her enough to show her his powers. This is going to be so great, I mean imagine how powerful they could be together, the heir of Adarlan and the heir of Terrasen, they’d be such great rulers. In Throne of Glass I thought Aelin might actually have been Nehemia, but it makes sense because remember how she was so certain that the person claiming to be Aelin was an impostor, she was so sure because she is Aelin. This series has such great potential and so far it’s living up to every second of it.

Oh and Archer, I didn’t really suspect him, did any of you see him coming?I can’t believe he was behind Nehemia’s murder.

I loved how Gavin came to Dorian to warn him about Celeana opening the portal, and Elena came to Celeana all the time, I mean come on, Gavin could’ve gone to Chaol, but he chose Dorian, I think they ship it too lol.

I was kind of upset at the end when she told Chaol about her being a Fae, but not Dorian, and also when she knocked out Dorian to go after Chaol and Fleetfoot in the portal, like did you really have to..? So anyways, yes Chaol saw her as Fae and Dorian did not, but I want her to tell him, soon. Then at the end, when she told Chaol about the Wyrdkeys and the date, I was upset again that she chose to tell him and not Dorian, but she did explain that she wasn’t ready to tell him because it’ll destroy him or something like that knowing that his dad was doing all that, and yeah I get it, but he has to know, soon. I hate how rude she was to Dorian early on, and then when all went to hell with Chaol she goes “I do have a friend, Dorian” and I was like noo shitttt lol, if only you stopped being so rude to him at first.

Then the the end, I’m excited to see Wendlyn and to meet infamous Rowan, but it was so dumb and possessive of Chaol to propose the deal to the king without consulting her first, like he’s always doing dumb shit like this, ughhh.
But anyways, this series is so good! So good!

What were your thoughts? Have you read Heir of Fire yet? What’d you think? I’m curious, did any of you switch teams after reading this book?

xx


Rating:

5cam

favoritesrating.jpg

Book Depository | UK Edition

19 thoughts on “Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas | Review

  1. MyTinyObsessions says:

    (let’s try this again… I had a huge response, but when I hit post my internet died…)

    First of all, I did not see Archer coming, 😐 I was like “WTF?!”

    LOL, I think Elena and Gavin ship Celaena and Dorian too, or it could be that they both belong to their bloodlines… it was cute that it was Gavin and not Elena who showed up though, I could keep seeing that.

    I was super mad at Celaena at the beginning for the way she was treating Dorian too, though I think she didn’t exactly know how to act with him.

    I also think that Celaena had to go through that with Chaol, because ultimately Dorian was kind of right, and since they met, it had always been about Celaena and Chaol, but I don’t see a way around what happened, no matter how much they like each other. I do understand why he didn’t tell her about Nehemia, he’s someone who gave all of himself to his country and his king, and he thought it was a test to his loyalties (which it was), so he didn’t tell her. He should have done something though…

    I wished he had more Dorian in this book, because Dorian rocks! And I loved to see his friendship and trust with Celeana grow, and I also get why she didn’t tell him she’s fae and all about his father’s business, it would have break him.

    For a heartbeat I almost shipped Chaol with Celaena, but then when he found out that she’s Aelin, his reaction was all wrong, suddenly he wasn’t worried about keeping her safe, he was worried about the threat that she could be to the king that he now knows is corrupt… badly done Chaol.

    to sum it up – team Dorian

    Liked by 1 person

    • ωσя∂ѕωєнєαят says:

      Lol me too like when Dorian came to Ger rooms and told her that she said they could still be friends and she just told him to leave I was like reallllyyy?… lol
      I understand Chaol’s loyalty, it’s admirable but he has to realize that he’s giving it to the wrong cause. Right! Like as soon as they weren’t together anymore then she became this threat….

      Dorian forever lol ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • MyTinyObsessions says:

        it broke my heart when Dorian asked her if she wanted him to fight for her… poor baby, but he was always the bigger man (except the whole part “yeah, I knew you liked her, but I went for it either way”)

        I can’t wait to start book 3, because I really want to have misunderstood Chaol, you know? I don’t want him with her, but I like him, and I think he’s better than that

        Liked by 1 person

      • ωσя∂ѕωєнєαят says:

        I know me too, but you know the whole thing with knowing Chaol liked her was highly unfair to him because he was already in love with her and Chaol knew it even before he liked her so it wasn’t him of him to have expected Dorian to not act on his feelings. I hope so too, and I hope he ends up finding his own happiness. Book 3 is good so far even though I’m only 2 chapters in, but I think I’m about to meet Rowan so I’m excited!

        Like

  2. KimsiangLim says:

    I totally ship Rowan and Celaena after reading Heir of Fire! But like you, I’ve never really been on team Chaol lol. I shipped Dorian and Celaena all through book 1 and 2. And Sorscha!!!! I was jealous of her 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  3. rawrdyrawrbookdino says:

    I was team Dorian, then became Team Chaol during this one, but I was really frustrated after how he didn’t tell her about Nehemia. I understand that he was still loyal to the king so I don’t hate him, but I don’t want them to get back together yet. Honestly I am just team Celaena, whoever she ends up with, I am okay with. I loved Heir of Fire! I think this series gets better with every book. I really hope you love it. I am dying for Queen of Shadows. Bloomsbury is also doing a promotion, so if you preorder Queen of Shadows and send a picture of your preorder for proof with your address, they will send you a set of six ToG related pins.

    I cried when Nehemia died, I was happy for Celaena that she finally had a loyal friend after all the horrible things that have happened to her since she was little. I also thought that Nehemia was going to be Aelin, so when I found out that Celaena was Aelin, I was pleasantly shocked.
    At the moment, I think that Celaena needs to not be in a relationship, because she is still figuring out her past, and who she wants to be. I don’t think Dorian or Chaol know enough about her to be good for her, because she doesn’t even know everything.

    I really hope you enjoy Heir of Fire! I always get really excited when someone new gets into this series. I absolutely love Sarah J Maas’s writing!

    Like

    • ωσя∂ѕωєнєαят says:

      After reading The Assassin’s Blade I feel like she probably shouldn’t be ready yet to love again, but I guess after Endovier things change in perspectives.
      That’s so cool, I think I’ll definitely pre-order it then, that’s a coll promo. I’m really enjoying Heir of Fire so far, lol Rowan is so stand-offish so far, but I love him already.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Josephine says:

    Great review!
    First off, I’m surprised that you liked Throne of Glass better! I loved Crown of Midnight more than the first and then I loved Heir of Fire just as much.
    I was a Team Dorian fan in Throne of Glass but after reading this book, I switched over to Team Chaol. Their date scene just brought it all together for me! But I see exactly what you mean about Dorian and Celaena. Power couple indeed!!! Nehemias death was insane, my head was reeling the entire time! Crown of Midnight was by far the most action packed book in the series so far. 😄 xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • ωσя∂ѕωєнєαят says:

      No no, I liked this one better, but I loved Throne of Glass so much already so It wasn’t much of a difference. The date scene was pretty adorable, but the whole time I just kept wishing Dorian were there instead, lol, I’m hardcore on Dorian and Celeana (do they have a ship name?). This series reminds me why I love fantasy so much.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Josephine says:

        Oh, oh right I must have read it wrong! 😅
        I don’t think they have a ship name, maybe Sarvilliard? Their last names out together? Or Celorian? 😂
        I know right?! 😍

        Like

  5. SERIESous Book Reviews says:

    This is my favourite book of the ones so far! So much action, romance and drama: it’s just fabulous if you ask me!

    Dorian is my favourite character but I don’t want him to be with Celaena. For a while I entertained it in Throne of Glass but I prefer her with Chaol…well, until Heir of Fire and now I really don’t know 😛 Sam (from the prequel novellas) will probably always be ultimate pick though ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Tika says:

    Yes girl! Your review has me so pumped to FINALLY read this book. I was definitely one of those readers that doubted the rest of the series based on how I felt about TOG, so I’m glad I’m going to be giving it the chance it deserves. Don’t hate me, but I was so team Chaol when I read the first book. I like Dorian too though, just not as my boo. We’ll see if I switch sides as the story goes on, even though I doubt I will lol. Great review btw 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

