Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas | Review

18006496

title: Queen of Shadows

author: Sarah J. Maas

series: Throne of Glass #4

genre: YA, High Fantasy

page count: 645

publication: September 1st, 2015

publisher: Bloomsbury

format: First, American Hardcover

source: Purchased

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past . . .

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die just to see her again. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

Celaena’s epic journey has captured the hearts and imaginations of millions across the globe. This fourth volume will hold readers rapt as Celaena’s story builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.


Alright, so this book. Where to start?….

To just sum up without any spoilers, I’m just going to say that I loved this book, it’s my favorite in the series, and my favorite of the year. It was even better then I could imagine, and I’m so excited for book 5. Also, guys do read The Assassin’s Blade before this, it’s not necessary, but you’ll get a different view if you read it first, because old characters return. 

Okay, so this is the 4th book in the series, so I can’t really mention anything without spoilers, so from now on there will be spoilers, and I wouldn’t want you guys to get spoiled, so stop reading now, just know that it was great and I loved it! 


So, we start off with a Dorian chapter, and it broke my heart. I was on Twitter throughout reading this so I’ll probably include screenshots of the tweets I made throughout this review. But it was so heartbreaking seeing Dorian in that state, and I was just willing for him to fight. I knew he wasn’t going to die, because even if Dorian were to die (which he’s not) he wouldn’t die this early So I knew that they’d find a way to get him out of the collar, but it was still heartbreaking seeing him in that state. All of Dorian’s chapters were sad, and they were all short and abrupt and she just added them in there to break our hearts lol. 

QoS tweet 1

Then, Arobynn comes along. I’ve been waiting for that reunion for a bit, and it didn’t disappoint. See, Arobynn has some issues, I knew he was like this psychotic being, but he really is. It was crazy to read about. Finding out that he’d actually told Rourke what to do to Sam, he’s even sicker then I could’ve imagined. Then at the end there, when he put the ring on Aelin’s finger… I have to be honest, I saw that coming, it wasn’t entirely surprising, and I’m surprised Aelin and the crew didn’t see it coming. As soon as he saved the ring, I knew it was for precisely that purpose. That’s another thing with this book, I saw pretty much everything coming, and not to say it was predictable, because not everyone was like me and saw things coming, I think I feel like if I was a writer, I’d write the same way Sarah does, so I can see where she’s going with her story. I’ll get into other scenes where I knew what was going to happen a bit later… But I’m glad Arobynn is finally gone.

Lysandra, I was shocked by her return. Her and Aelin’s friendship I couldn’t have foreseen, especially after reading The Assassin’s Blade, I mean those two hated each other… It was nice though that she got another female friend.I didn’t expect Lysandra’s story line to turn so deep, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. I love that she’s a shapeshifter, and that she’s rare and unique, and I love that she’s part of Aelin’s court. It’s just all great. Also, she’s definitely going to be getting with Aedion later on, they’re adorable.

qos tweet2

Let’s talk about Chaol -__-…. Oh my I hated him in this book, by the end there, I liked him again, but he really needs to get his shit together, by the end of Heir of Fire I liked him again bu then we start off this book and he’s once again a piece of shit. It’s one or the other, choose and stick with it. Yes, there were certain points in this where I saw his points, but other times he was just ugh. But when he refused to tell her about magic, really…. I hate how he thought she’d just kill Dorian, like if she did it would be to save him from this life of despair, she cares about him just as much as you do.. Then he had some stupid line about how when magic returned, ordinary non magic wielders would be irrelevant, like shut up… I understand his concerns but he just went the wrong way about it. 

qos t3  qos t4 qos t5

qos t6 qos t7 qos t7

As you can tell I was really aggravated lol. 

Then Chaol and Nesryn. I loved Nesryn, another badass female, and I liked her relationship with Chaol. I mean I hope they find happiness together, but I don’t really care if I’m being honest. Chaol’s future is really irrelevant at the moment, I no longer think he’s going to die now, because Nesryn is in the picture, but I don’t know. I don’t want him to die, because I don’t want Dorian to lose his friend, especially not now. When the King said he’d “killed” Chaol, I knew he was lying because he never actually came out and said ” I killed Chaol” I knew he was just toying with them. 

Soo, the King. As I got more into the book I started thinking what if the King was actually just like Dorian under someone else’s control. I didn’t really go too deep into the theory, it was just always in the back of my head, and turns out I was right. I don’t think his final words were lies, but a lot of things don’t add up. He says that everything he’s done was to protect Dorian, but he put a collar around his neck… I wasn’t sure if he was going to die at the end or not…but since he’s not the big bad wolf in this then I guess he had to go. I can’t believe Dorian is King, oh wow. So proud of my baby. He’s been though so much though, and he has to heal. Oh, and here’s what I was talking about earlier on, when Aelin went to the castle with Chaol not thinking the King already knew she was Aelin. I wasn’t surprised when he called her Aelin, and I’m not sure why she was. The man isn’t stupid, he can add two an two together.

Duke Perrington was a nice twist. I mean it doesn’t  make sense because Perrington seemed to be so submissive to the King, but I’m guessing he had to be to keep up appearances, since he’s only a Duke and he was the King. I’m so excited to see where this is all going. It was so sad seeing Roland, like oh wow. Then Kaltain, and the shadowfire. I’m glad she got to go out with that bang at the end. 

So now we’re getting more into Manon and her story line. I loved Manon so much, I actually think she might be even be more badass then Aelin is. I loved Asterin’s part in this book, I was actually quite surprised that Asterin broke that brainwash before Manon did. Hearing her story with the hunter, and her child, it was heartbreaking. I love that Manon is breaking through now too. By the end of this I think she’s definitely going to be fighting on Aelin’s side of this war. I loved that fight scene with Manon and Aelin, it was one of my ultimate favorites. I loved that Aelin saved her and in return Manon told her about Dorian still being in there. I loved the Elide story, it took me a bit to remember who she was, but when I figured it out… I’m so looking forward to that reunion too. So many reunions!  Also, Manon and Dorian, anyone else seeing a potential relationship brewing… idk, it’s interesting, but we’ll get more into that when I talk about Rowan and Aelin. This is going to be so long lol. 

Absolutely loved Aedion and Aelin’s reunion. Loved Rowan and Aelin’s reunion, my favorite was probably Aedion and Rowan’s meeting, because I’d been anticipating that one. The whole blood oath dilemma was sad, but I feel like that fight was dragged by both parties. I understand that Aedion had been waiting for this his whole life, but it was her oath to offer so he should’ve respected that, and Aelin, she knew how important it was to him, so she could’ve been more compassionate, but it all worked out in the end. I love Aedion and Rowan relationship, how they call each other brothers, and Aedion was willing to die for him. I knew that was the way it was going to end up between them once they got past their differences. I cried when Rowan came back, it was so beautiful. 

qos t8 qos t9 qos t10

qos t11 wpid-wp-1441650544552.png wpid-wp-1441650544712.png

So Rowan and Aelin’s relationship.I ship it, I do, but they’re not gonna last. One it’s too complicated, he’s immortal, she’s not, and also, they were introduced too early. There are still 2 books left, do you guys really think they’re going to stay together?.. No. I’m still 100% sure Dorian is endgame, and that’s why they’re not together now. Also, Rowan’s lines in this book tho, I was shocked lol. I’d be fine if they ended up together, really, but it’s not gonna happen. I actually think that he and Manon will end up together, is it just me? Because Manon and Dorian are like something now, and it’s like really.. Aelin with an immortal, Dorian possibly with an immortal as well, so you see where I’m heading at…SO yeah. 

Also, I love how she changed the narrative from Celaena to Aelin, although I’m going to miss seeing Celaena written because it’s a beautoful name. I love how when Dorian saw her he said Aelin as opposed to Celaena ♥

wpid-wp-1441654196746.png wpid-wp-1441654196749.pngqos t

Alright, lastly that scene with Aelin and Dorian in that tower. I’ll just let my tweets speak for themselve , because they’re so endgame. 

qos tt wpid-wp-1441650544376.png

Yup, I mean, did you see how great and amazing and unstoppable they were together, INFINITE guys, INFINITE. Fire and Ice, I’ve been saying it all along, not even Rowan can keep up with that. 

Okay, I think I covered everything. Leave your thoughts below! 

I’ll include some other tweets that didn’t make it in the review below

XX


RATING:

5cam

favoritesrating.jpg


wpid-wp-1441650544237.png  wpid-wp-1441650544128.png wpid-wp-1441650544026.png

wpid-wp-1441650544039.png  wpid-wp-1441650544053.png wpid-wp-1441650544545.png

wpid-wp-1441650544395.png

33 thoughts on “Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas | Review

  1. MyTinyObsessions says:

    I just read a phrase of your review, because spoilers and I haven’t read the book yet… But SJM said that Aelin’s mortality (or not) will be revealed later… (My heart is already shipping her with Rowan like crazy and I haven’t even read the book)

    Liked by 2 people

    • CJ Dawn says:

      So there is a chance Aelin and Rowan could stay together? I really like this possibility!

      And I think some people may have gotten the Aedion/Aelin idea from some comments in the flashbacks in Heir of Fire where they mentioned a possible union between the two, but it wasn’t ever completely fleshed out (and I don’t see it as a viable option really). I prefer Rowan. I would be okay with Dorian, but I really think they’d be better as friends. And considering most YA series introduce the endgame couple almost immediately, I don’t think it’s too early to be considering Rowan and Aelin endgame (though two more books does still give me pause. ANYTHING could happen!)

      I hope they don’t introduce anyone new. I think it should stay either Dorian or Rowan.

      Liked by 1 person

      • MyTinyObsessions says:

        I would say that there is a chance, I do hope her immortality or not is resolved within the fifth book.

        that’s why I got the idea of Aedion/Aelin… lol.

        I lean a LOT towards Rowan (I’m super biased towards him), and if not him, then Dorian.

        Like

  2. thebookishkhaleesi says:

    Loved your review! I agree with you on the ships though. I loved Aelin and Rowan’s platonic relationship and didn’t expect to ship them so hard! They are absolutely adorable! But! I have to still be rooting for a Dorian and Aelin reunion. There is just so much linking them together that it’s so hard to not have them together. Like you pointed out, THEY ARE INFINITE!

    Side note: Aelin did see Arobynn betraying her and putting that ring on her, that’s why she had a fake one made to see if he would. I think she just still had some hope in her that Arobynn wouldn’t actually betray her like that. ):

    Liked by 1 person

    • ωσя∂ѕωєнєαят says:

      Thanks! And yes, I feel like they were so much better before and it showed that guys and girls really could just be this close without being romantic. I see them like Will & Jem from TID that kind of relationship except they’re not both male .

      I thought that she switched the rings so that he couldn’t get real info out of Stevan (if that was his name) but maybe you’re right. I know she did say she thought he was still redeemable, but he really was just too far gone.

      Like

  3. Amanda says:

    Good review! I think Chaol was the biggest roadblock in this book and many readers feel that way. I asked SJM about it at one of her events and she said she wanted to show how when people are hurting they can be a-holes to everyone and take some steps backward before they’re ready to grow again. I understand that sentiment, but I just felt like his whole character arc was abrupt. Overall I looooved this installment though, so many badass women!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ωσя∂ѕωєнєαят says:

      Thank you!
      Interesting, I do get her point but honestly I thought we were done with that at the end of Heir of Fire but I guess he’d just accepted that he wasn’t going to stay loyal to the King anymore not that Aelin was now a different person with new perspectives, idk. I do feel like it was a bit abrupt as well but hopefully he doesn’t take anymore steps back because he’s had enough already.

      Like

      • Amanda says:

        Agreed! I also thought his growth was done with HOF and I was baffled that he was still going on about his honor and stuff. SJM said that Chaol needs to have a healing journey of his own just like Celaena did and that we were more used to her being a jerk to everyone than we were to Chaol being a jerk. I don’t know…of course they are her characters, but I kept wondering if there was a book I missed in between HOF and QOS!

        Liked by 1 person

      • ωσя∂ѕωєнєαят says:

        Lol I totally see what you mean. I mean I was so shocked at Chaol and Aelin’s first encounter, he practically just blamed her for everything. I don’t think she’s ever been that much of a jerk outright like that in the whole series, Chaol was just top level a-hole lol

        Liked by 1 person

  4. CJ Dawn says:

    I loved reading all your thoughts! We already know where I stand with Aelin/Rowan/Dorian, so I’ll skip that part, haha.

    I totally agree with you about Chaol. After Heir of Fire I really thought he had finally come around, but then I just wanted to strangle him through most of this book. He really can be a jerk. A small part of me wanted him and Aelin to reconcile, but no more. They can just stay friends. He killed that ship for me.

    I really liked the twist about the King and the Duke. It was so easy to assume the final battle would ultimately be Aelin vs. the King, so it was neat how Maas already took the King off the playing board. (Though does anyone else find it suspicious that they never found his body? In my experience that’s NEVER a good thing.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • ωσя∂ѕωєнєαят says:

      Lol I liked the twist too! And I mean, I don’t think he’s alive because there’d be no point to that. Besides they didn’t find a lot of people’s bodies because what Dorian did to that castle lol he obliterated everything and everyone in it

      Like

  5. thatssojacob says:

    Not my genre, but a good review!

    By the way, you’ve been chosen as one of today’s nine blogs in That’s So Jacob’s Ninth Month Blog Challenge (http://www.thatssojacob.wordpress.com)! I challenge you to find nine blogs you find interesting and give them a comment to brighten their day…well, eight other blogs and mine 🙂 Copy this message in your comment and enjoy your new blog friends!

    Like

Leave a Reply

