Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K Rowling| Book Review

 

Title: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban 

 Author: J.K Rowling

 Series: Harry Potter #3

 Genre: Children’s, Fantasy 

 Page Count: 435

 Publication: September 8th, 1999 (July 8th for the UK) 

 Publisher: Scholastic

 Format: First, American Hardcover 

 Source: Owned

 

 

Summary: (Goodreads) 

Harry Potter is lucky to reach the age of thirteen, since he has already survived the murderous attacks of the feared Dark Lord on more than one occasion. But his hopes for a quiet term concentrating on Quidditch are dashed when a maniacal mass-murderer escapes from Azkaban, pursued by the soul-sucking Dementors who guard the prison. It’s assumed that Hogwarts is the safest place for Harry to be. But is it a coincidence that he can feel eyes watching him in the dark, and should he be taking Professor Trelawney’s ghoulish predictions seriously? 

I loved it as expected. It might be my favorite so far, but Sorcerer’s Stone will always hold a special spot in my heart. The book follows Harry on his third year at Hogwarts, well it starts on his birthday (July 31st) as all the books usually do, and ends at the end of the year. Anyways, there’s a prisoner on the loose, Sirius Black, and both the muggle and magical community are after him. Theree’s not much else to say without spoilers, so all I can say is that I really loved it, there were nice plot twists and the ending was beautiful ♥ 

Rating: 

wpid-ratings-hearts-picsarct_1.2.jpg.jpeg wpid-picsart_1405271938211.jpg

Spoilers ↓

Okay. So Harry left the Dursleys right after he blew up his aunt, which was cool. Everyone was lenient towards him because they cared for his safety because they thought Black was after him. I already knew Sirius was innocent because I saw Order of the Phoenix in theaters, so I also know what happens to him in that book which totally sucked. It was so nice seeing how Harry was so excited to go live with him, and I don’t know if it’ll happen, but I hope it does (: Scabbers being Peter Pettigrew I didn’t see coming. that was nice, her plot twists are always awesome. At first I was actually suspicious of Lupin because the ball thingy Ron gave Harry had lit up when they got into his cabin, but I love him now, I’m so sad he didn’t stay. I feel like we’ll get a new DATDA teacher every year, good and bad. I hoped Lupin had stayed, he was awesome and actually really good at it. 

Hermione’s secret, I knew there was a way she was getting to all her classes, though I didn’t expect that was it. She was a bit annoying in this book with the firebolt and her cat, I mean I understood about the Firebolt and she ended up being right about Crooksanks not eating Scabbers, but still. I loved that that was in there because it made it seem all that more realistic, I remember when I was their age and had all those little fights with my bff’s and we would stop talking, those were the days lol ♥ But I still love Hermione and her and Ron are adorable. I loved it when she hit Draco, she was really awesome in the book as well. I do like Draco, he’s an interesting character and I want to know more about him. I sorta ship Dramione lol (: 

Ooh Ooh! That girl Cho Chang from Ravenclaw, she’s the same girl that Harry was with in Order of the Phoenix is she not? I’m positive she is. 

I was so happy when they won the Quidditch Cup, I was crying with joy lol, it sounds ridiculous but I was really so happy for them. 

Then came the ending which was epic, all the truth came out and Sirius is innocent, and they went back in time to save Buckbeak, then saved Sirius and it was so beautiful. The letter Harry received from him while on the Hogwarts Express was beautiful, brought tears to my eyes, I think it’s also because I know what happens in #5, the unfairness of it all. 

Oh and the movie I watched it right after and it was really good, I think it was a better adaptation then Chamber of Secrets, though they messed up the ending, but I still think Sorcerer’s Stone was better ♥ 

So yea! that’s it! (: Share your feels xx 

5 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K Rowling| Book Review

Add yours

  1. I’m glad that you loved Prisoner of Azkaban. I think it might be my favorite of the series! I saw the Lupin twist, but I didn’t see any of the others coming. I love the tale of the Marauders. There’s now a short story, like one chapter, way too short about them. I want an entire book! Though there is more about them in future books in little bits.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑